Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

AMORPHIS release video 'Black Winter Day' off upcoming "Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live At Tavastia)" album & concert film

Due Out On July 12, 2024 Via Reigning Phoenix Music


The 30th anniversary of AMORPHIS‘ landmark album “Tales From The Thousand Lakes” is celebrated with a live recording. This release will be available on Blu-ray+CD and vinyl, was recorded at the iconic Tavastia Club in Helsinki, Finland, in chronological order. It will be available from July 12, 2024 via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM). Ahead of the release they now release the ‘Black Winter Day’ live video, which is also part of the forthcoming Blu-ray. 

Watch ”Black Winter Day’  below.

“Back in 1994, ‘Black Winter Day’ was a somewhat different song among the other “Tales…” material,” reminisces AMORPHIS bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine“Being probably the first death metal song with a waltz time signature and a Moog synthesizer, it truly stood out at the time. Three decades later, ‘Black Winter Day’ still resonates with metal audiences around the globe and plays a crucial role in the saga of AMORPHIS!”

Watch the previously released ‘Drowned Maid’  below.

“‘Drowned Maid’ is classic ’90s crossover AMORPHIS. Retrospectively, sporting primitive keyboards and sound effects, the marriage of doomy death metal and folk-prog somehow does the trick,” recalls bassist Olli-Pekka Laine“This song was a live favourite back then, and it’s still a pleasure to play it to this day!”

“Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live At Tavastia)” will be available in the following formats:

– Blu-ray+CD-digipak
– 2LP in gatefold (blue blackdust | crystal clear blackdust)
– digital

“Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live At Tavastia)” – Track Listing:

01. Thousand Lakes
02. Into Hiding
03. The Castaway
04. First Doom
05. Black Winter Day
06. Drowned Maid
07. In The Beginning
08. Forgotten Sunrise
09. To Father’s Cabin
10. Magic And Mayhem
11. Vulgar Necrolatry
12. My Kantele

Photo credit: Jaakko Manninen

Social media