Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

FEAR FACTORY to begin recording new album in early 2023


In a new interview with Sonic Perspectives collaborator Rodrigo AltafFEAR FACTORY guitarist Dino Cazares confirmed that he and his bandmates have commenced work on the follow-up to 2021’s “Aggression Continuum” album. He said: “We started pre-production about a week ago. So right now we’re just demoing everything. And then we’ll be recording probably early next year. But then I’ve gotta go on tour… We’ve gotta go on tour starting in late February, and we’re gonna be on tour till at least June. So we probably be able to finish the production sometime until July, and then shortly after that hopefully get the record out as quickly as possible.”

Cazares also addressed the fact that FEAR FACTORY‘s upcoming album will be the band’s first to feature the group’s new vocalist, the identity of whom has not yet been revealed.

“You wanna take your time working with the new singer,” he explained. “You wanna make sure you find someone that best fits the job. It’s not anything new for me; I’ve started many other bands with other singers, and I’ve had to replace singers before. But not in a band like FEAR FACTORY. So, yeah, it’s definitely very challenging, and I’m definitely up for the challenge. I understand there’s probably gonna be some sort of backlash, but there’s a backlash with everything. So, yeah, I’m up for the challenge. I’m not planning on changing anything. I’m gonna pretty much keep what FEAR FACTORY is known for and try to honor the legacy of who we are.”

Asked if musical chemistry, stage presence and personality were all factors in his decision when selecting the new vocalist of FEAR FACTORYDino said: “All of the above, especially when you’re working with people that you don’t know. Especially someone like the singer, who I don’t know that well. When I hired him, I didn’t know him that well. Of course we’ve spent some time together and we got to know each other. You wanna make sure you’re not making a bad decision, ’cause this is gonna be something that’s gonna last a while. Plus, relationships are relationships. You can’t always control how things are gonna turn out. You try your best. And you put your right foot forward and you just keep moving.”

Cazares also confirmed that FEAR FACTORY is currently “label-less” after working with Nuclear Blast for the band’s last two albums. “We don’t have any record company. FEAR FACTORY doesn’t have any new record company right now,” he said. “We haven’t signed any new deals. And we are in the process also of negotiating and evaluating different offers that we have. That’s another thing too. I didn’t realize that this year that our record contract had expired with Nuclear Blast. But they still have the obligation to promote this record, ‘Recoded’ the recently released collection of remixes of the songs from ‘Aggression Continuum’. But now, moving forward, we’re exploring our options and it’s looking really good. So hopefully we’ll get some sort of deal done and be able to get this music out to you as soon as possible.”

FEAR FACTORY released “Recoded”, a collection of remixes of the songs from the band’s latest album, “Aggression Continuum”, on October 28 via Nuclear Blast. The video for the first single from the effort, “Disobey – Disruptor Remix By Zardonic”, is previously released.

Watch  “Disobey – Disruptor Remix By Zardonic” below.

“Recoded” will be FEAR FACTORY‘s first remix album since 1997’s “Remanufacture” and it coincided with the band’s 32nd anniversary (FEAR FACTORY officially formed on October 30, 1990).

The artwork for “Recoded” was created by Anthony Clarkson, who previously worked on 2010’s “Mechanize”, 2012’s “The Industrialist” and 2015’s “Genexus”.

The final mixing and mastering for “Recoded” was handled by Damien Rainaud. The effort was produced by FEAR FACTORY guitarist Dino Cazares.

“Recoded” track listing:

  1. Adapt Or Die(intro narrative by Jake Stern, sound FX By Zardonic)
    02. Hatred Will Prevail (“Monolith” remix by Rhys Fulber)
    03. Disobey (“Disruptor” remix by Zardonic)
    04. I Am The Nightrider (“Fuel Injected Suicide Machine” remix by Dualized/Zardonic)
    05. Path To Salvation (“Purity” remix by Rhys Fulber)
    06. Worthless (“End Of Line” remix by Zardonic)
    07. Empires Fall (“Collapse” remix by Tyrant Of Death)
    08. System Assassin (“Aggression Continuum” remix by Rhys Fulber)
    09. Hypocrisy Of Faith (“Manufactured Hope” remix by Rob GEE)
    10. This Is My Life (“Cognitive Dissonance” remix by Zardonic)
    11. Recoded (“Recode” remix by Blush Response)

Vinyl bonus tracks:

  1. Turbo Factory(“End Of Line” remix by Turboslash)
    13. Break Off (“Disruptor” remix by Rhys Fulber)

“Aggression Continuum” was released in June 2021 via Nuclear Blast Records. The LP, which was recorded primarily in 2017, features Cazares and singer Burton C. Bell alongside drummer Mike Heller.

Social media