Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

BLOODBATH releases single "Carved" featuring Luc Lemay of Gorguts

New Album, "Survival Of The Sickest", out September 9

Photo credit: Ester Segarra


“Survival Of The Sickest” is the title of the sixth full-length album from BLOODBATH, Sweden’s old school death metal band, featuring British singer Nick Holmes (Paradise Lost), will be released on September 9, 2022 via Napalm Records. Ahead of the album, the band now released a single and official music video for  “Carved”, featuring none other than Luc Lemay (Gorguts).

Watch “Carved” below. 

Jonas Renkse on “Carved“:

“If you’re a subject to human experiments performed by the sickest surgeon, you may not have the time to suffer a thousand deaths, but one thing is for certain: YOU’RE CARVED.”

The world is in flames, and “Survival Of The Sickest”, produced by BLOODBATH and co-produced and mixed by Lawrence Mackrory at Rorysound Studios, offers no respite from the horrors of reality. Instead, with the addition of new guitarist Tomas ‘Plytet’ Åkvik (Lik) onboard, BLOODBATH’s latest and greatest album gleefully confronts the slavering ghoul lurking in the shadows, and treats him to ten songs of ripping death metal frenzy. Alongside BLOODBATH’s official alumni, “Survival Of The Sickest” boasts a smattering of irresistible cameos from the great, good and ghoulish of the metal underground, including Barney Greenway (Napalm Death), Luc Lemay (Gorguts) and Marc Grewe (Morgoth).

 From the thuggish brain-smash of opener “Zombie Inferno” to the bleak, obsidian ooze of closer “No God Before Me”“Survival Of The Sickest” is the sound of a great band in blistering form. In contrast with The Arrow Of Satan Is Drawn, which borrowed heavily from the blackened end of the death metal world, the new BLOODBATH goes straight for the jugular in true old school fashion. With strong echoes of everything from Morbid Angel and Death to Deicide and Obituary, songs like the rampaging “Putrefying Corpse”, the disgustingly slow and heavy “Dead Parade”, and the deliciously twisted “Tales Of Melting Flesh” breathe fresh fire into an arcane, perpetually rotting formula.

Formed by Jonas Renkse and Anders Nyström (both of KATATONIA), Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth) and Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity) in 1998, BLOODBATH devoted themselves to resurrecting the increasingly forgotten art of pure death metal. In 2014, they unveiled a new frontman – legendary Paradise Lost vocalist Nick Holmes, now redubbed Old Nick – and yet another macabre musical evolution. With this new line-up, the only way to go was grim. On “Survival Of The Sickest”BLOODBATH evoke their most horrifying sonic scenarios to date, from the death-by-munching nightmare of “Malignant Maggot Therapy”, to the murderous nihilism of “Affliction Of Extinction”. A glorious comeback from a legendarily wicked musical force, “Survival Of The Sickest” provides yet more proof that BLOODBATH are the kings of the old school.


“If there was a declaration of goods attached to this album, it would say Florida death metal exported from Sweden.”

“Survival Of The Sickest” track listing:

1. Zombie Inferno

2. Putrefying Corpse

3. Dead Parade

4. Malignant Maggot Therapy

5. Carved

6. Born Infernal

7. To Die

8. Affliction of Extinction

9. Tales of Melting Flesh

10. Environcide

11. No God Before Me          


“Survival Of The Sickest” will be available in the following formats:       

Digisleeve CD Edition

Digital Full Length Album

1 Tape Edition – Brown Transparent with blue print – limited to 200, Napalm Records Shop exclusive

Wooden Box Edition (incl. Digisleeve, Mouse Trap, Album Cover Flag, Cover Patch) – limited to 500, Napalm Records Shop exclusive

1LP SKY BLUE – limited to 300, Napalm Records Shop exclusive – SOLD OUT!

1LP DARK GREEN – limited to 500, Napalm Records Shop exclusive

1LP PICTURE VINYL – limited to 500, Napalm Records Shop exclusive


Social media