Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION releases video for new single 'Letting Go'

Photo by Rob Bondurant


BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION, the supergroup featuring legendary vocalist/bassist Glenn Hughes (DEEP PURPLEBLACK SABBATH), guitarist Joe Bonamassa, drummer Jason Bonham (LED ZEPPELIN) and keyboardist Derek Sherinian (DREAM THEATERALICE COOPERBILLY IDOL), has shared the official music video for its new single, “Letting Go”. The track is taken from BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION‘s fifth studio album, “V”, which is being released now .

Watch “Letting Go” below.

Resonating with the band’s signature fusion of hard rock and soul-stirring blues, “Letting Go” stands as a testament to BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION‘s growth and mutual admiration, symbolizing their commitment to producing music that is authentic, heartfelt, and reflective of their shared experiences and vast musical expertise.

“This band allows me to embrace all of it,” comments Bonamassa. “It’s funny because the four musicians up here — everybody brings a certain thing to this that’s very specific. Every part is irreplaceable. For me, it’s about playing old-style rock guitar, loud.”

Hughes adds: “We make music for the five of us. We make music that we love and like, hoping it registers with everyone else. We don’t make it for record companies, or this guy or that guy.” Sherinian credits producer Kevin Shirley for keeping the band’s creative energies focused, adding, “We’ve got to give Kevin Shirley massive credit because he controls. He keeps it all flowing.”

Watch the previously release “Enlighten” and “Stay Free” below.

Produced by Shirley“V” marks a monumental chapter in the band’s storied career, embodying a renewed spirit and an evolution of their unmistakable sound. Shirley captures the essence of the band’s journey, stating: “For a band that started out as a collection of the best practitioners of their instruments, they very quickly found a unique sound. This time around, it has more purpose, the riffs are tougher, and there are hooks! Yes, hooks! It’s the most cohesive record, full of soul and grit, and I think this is the one that’s going to be the benchmark for BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION.” Glenn agrees: “In my opinion, we had the best time recording this record at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, tons of fun and a magical recording. Meet you inside the music.”

“Stay Free”, the lead single, is a powerhouse track that blends hard rock’s raw energy with a heavy dose of blues, channeling the spirit of legends like AC/DC and LED ZEPPELIN. It sets the tone for what fans can expect from “V” — a testament to the band’s dynamic synergy and creative evolution.

Since their debut in 2010, BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION has delivered a series of critically acclaimed albums, each showcasing the group’s ability to fuse British blues-rock with American soul in a way that captivates audiences worldwide. Their return with “V” reaffirms their status as rock royalty and showcases their growth as musicians and storytellers.

Shirley‘s insight into the recording process highlights the unique chemistry and camaraderie within the band. “When we convened in 2023 to start recording the album ‘V’, it really was like picking up the day after the most recent gig,” Shirley reflects. “The camaraderie is immediately evident. Once they start playing, everyone is deadly serious, and the music sounds like this band, and nothing else sounds like it.”

“V” is a milestone that celebrates the journey, talent, and vision of BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION. As the band embarks on this new chapter, they invite fans old and new to join them in experiencing the depth and power of “V”.

“V” track Listing:
01. Enlighten
02. Stay Free
03. Red Sun
04. Restless
05. Letting Go
06. Skyway
07. You’re Not Alone
08. Love And Faith
09. Too Far Gone

Social media