Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

ANVIL releases new single 'World Of Fools' from upcoming 'One And Only' album

Photo credit: W. Cliff Knese


Canadian metal legends ANVIL will release their 20th studio album “One And Only”, on June 28 via AFM Records. The effort was recorded late last summer with longtime producer Martin “Mattes” Pfeiffer and Jörg Uken at Uken‘s Soundlodge studios in Germany. The same production team was responsible for ANVIL‘s last four albums, “Anvil Is Anvil” (2016),“Pounding The Pavement” (2018),“Legal At Last” (2019) and “Impact Is Imminent” (2022). The LP’s third single, “World Of Fools” is now released.

Stream “World Of Fools”below.

“We’re more like our old selves than we’ve been in years,” comments Lips on the new album, adding: “We’ve dropped all our more modern aspects, particularly the ’90s version of ANVIL. No sexual topics and no thrash speed songs like they featured on past albums.”

Also watch the previously released “Feed Your Fantasy” below.

“One And Only” sees the band provide first-rate ANVIL entertainment: While Lips is considered to be one of the most creative and interesting storytellers of the metal genre, Robertson and Reiner keep the up the pace with their usual confidence, providing the perfect rhythm section for Lips. Although they have experienced the tough and frequently merciless side of the music industry on a number of occasions, ANVIL never lost their idealism, motivation and energy, which is immediately evident on “One And Only”.

Regarding ANVIL‘s continuing collaboration with Pfeiffer and UkenLips said: “Pfeiffer and Uken are our one and only choice. As usual, Mattes and Jörg did a great job in choosing our best playing and making sure it has top notch sound. Great guys who understand the band and know what suits us best.”

“One And Only” track listing:

01. One And Only
02. Feed Your Fantasy
03. Fight For Your Rights
04. Heartbroken
05. Gold And Diamonds
06. Dead Man Shoes
07. Truth Is Dying
08. Rocking The World
09. Run Away
10. World Of Fools
11. Condemned Liberty
12. Blind Rage

Social media