Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

DEEP PURPLE's ROGER GLOVER: “I don't like fame”

Photo credit: Jim Rakete (courtesy of The Outside Organisation


In a recent interview with Spain’s Made In Metal, bassist Roger Glover of the legendary British hard rockers DEEP PURPLE said that he leads a “very private” life away from the group. “The hoopla of being in a big band and touring has to be balanced, if you like, by family life,” the 78-year-old musician explained. “And the family have a hard enough time ’cause I have to go away for such long periods of time, and they have to exist here without me, which is not easy. I have a wife and two children — young children now. It’s necessary for me not to be known as famous. I don’t like fame.

“People say to me, young musicians, ‘Hey, how do you get famous?’ It’s the wrong question,” Roger noted. “What you really need to ask is, how do you be happy? People who wanna be famous, I don’t know why, because it’s an imposition. It takes away your life. And so I’m very happy to keep my life as private as possible.”

Following the success of their last single “Portable Door”, legendary British hard rockers DEEP PURPLE have recently released “Pictures Of You”, the second song from their upcoming album “=1”.

Watch “Pictures Of You” below.

“Pictures Of You” is now available for streaming and as instant gratification track with all digital download pre-orders for “=1”. Additionally, the single is offered as part of a four-track bundle which features two previously unreleased live recordings from 2022 in Milan, Italy: “When A Blind Man Cries” and “Uncommon Man”. For collectors, the excitement continues as the physical pre-sale of “Pictures Of You” begins today. The single will be released on CD and 12-inch vinyl on June 28, 2024, with each format being strictly limited to 5,000 pieces worldwide, and each copy being numbered by hand.

Watch the previously released “Portable Door” below.

McBride said: “The new album will reflect what the five of us create in the rehearsal room. Many of the songs, like ‘Portable Door’, were written in the first sessions and literally came together in 5 or 10 minutes. It all was so easy and natural.”

Frontman Ian Gillan added: “Throughout DEEP PURPLE‘s history, our best songs have always been those that were written in no time at all. We’ve played what felt good and developed songs as we have always done.”

DEEP PURPLE continues its charge of recent years, releasing hit albums and filling arenas around the world, adding yet more layers to its 100-million-album-selling legacy. The band is credited as one of the key originators of heavy rock and has constantly progressed its boundaries of music. They are fronted by Gillan, whose vocals have defined generations, accompanied by the masterful bassist Roger Glover, the powerhouse drummer Ian Paice, and the maestro on keyboards Don Airey.

“=1” is the band’s first album with McBride, who seamlessly slotted in when longtime member Morse left due to personal circumstances. Since 2022, Simon has already played to DEEP PURPLE audiences totaling more than half a million people.

“=1” will be released as a limited CD+DVD (digipak),CD (jewel case),2LP gatefold (black, 180g),limited purple 2LP gatefold (180g),limited crystal clear 2LP (180g) and limited box set (CD+DVD digipak, 2lp black gatefold, 3x exclusive 10″ vinyl editions feat. live recordings from DEEP PURPLE‘s 2022 tour, exclusive collector’s T-shirt, 2x exclusive guitar picks, 1x exclusive art print, 1x exclusive lanyard, and the chance to win a Golden Ticket giving access to all shows on the DEEP PURPLE “=1 More Time” tour). All LPs include a rich 12-page vinyl sized booklet. The bonus DVD features the approximately 60-minute documentary “Access All Areas” joining DEEP PURPLE backstage on tour and providing an exclusive look behind the scenes.

“=1” track listing:
01. Show Me
02. A Bit On The Side
03. Sharp Shooter
04. Portable Door
05. Old-Fangled Thing
06. If I Were You
07. Pictures Of You
08. I’m Saying Nothin’
09. Lazy Sod
10. Now You’re Talkin’
11. No Money To Burn
12. I’ll Catch You
13. Bleeding Obvious

With a body of work spanning seven decades, DEEP PURPLE has helped pioneer and define the hard rock genre while progressively moving into new areas, both keeping their sound fresh and attracting new fans to the legions who have remained loyal since the band’s inception. The celebrated MKII line up of Ian GillanRoger GloverIan PaiceJon Lord and Ritchie Blackmore were responsible for creating many of the defining rock albums of the early 1970s, including “Made In Japan”, universally accepted as one of the most important and influential live albums of all time.

In 2022 came the sad news of Steve Morse‘s departure due to personal circumstances, but DEEP PURPLE, never a band to let a set back throw them off course, sought out the masterful skills of guitarist Simon McBride and played the year out in style, exciting crowds with a new energy and excitement.

Ian GillanRoger GloverIan PaiceDon Airey and Simon McBride continue with renewed vitality, pushing the boundaries of hard rock to audiences around the globe, proving that DEEP PURPLE are very much here to stay.

Social media