Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

PAUL GILBERT shares cover of RAINBOW's 'Man On The Silver Mountain' from 'The Dio Album'

Photo by Jason Quigley


On April 7, 2023, Paul Gilbert will release an album celebrating one of heavy metal’s greatest icons when he releases “The Dio Album” via Music Theories Recordings/Mascot Label Group. To get another taster, Gilbert‘s take on RAINBOW‘s “Man On The Silver Mountain” is now available.

Watch “Man On The Silver Mountain” below.

Watch hte previously released “Holy Diver” and “Heaven And Hell” below.

It was pure chance that led Paul Gilbert to recording the music heard on latest release “The Dio Album”. The American guitar virtuoso, best known for his masterful fretwork in chart-topping hard rockers MR. BIG and high-octane trailblazers RACER X — as well as numerous solo records — was in his car when he saw something that made his heart start beating faster in a moment of unexpected, unadulterated joy. This was not a high value item of interest or even particularly rare, simply a baseball cap with the word “Dio” emblazoned across the front. Sometimes, even for the biggest of guitar legends, it’s the little things that hit us in the most profound ways.

On his drive home, a plan was being formulated. Why not capture all of that raw energy and excitement on an album devoted to Ronnie James Dio‘s most celebrated tracks — spanning across his career from RAINBOW to BLACK SABBATH and the singer’s own solo endeavors? Gilbert is no stranger to instrumental music, but an entire album dedicated to replicating well established and world-famous vocal melodies on his trusty six-string genuinely felt like new territory. This was already shaping up to be a challenge that he would truly relish.

It would be fair to say human voices don’t come much more magical than Ronnie James Dio‘s. He was a man who brought a sense of classical finesse to loud and heavy music, ultimately laying down the blueprint for generations and generations of rock singers to come. Taking on the daunting challenge of mimicking those distinguished vocal lines down to a tee — each legendary performance decorated with its own idiosyncrasies and nuances — actually involved unlearning some of the technical precision that turned Gilbert into a household name for guitar players in the first place.

“The Dio Album” consists of 10 standout and career-defining tracks, from “Neon Knights” and “Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll” to “Holy Diver” and “Man On The Silver Mountain”. As well as analyzing Ronnie James Dio‘s electrifying vocal melodies, Paul also enjoyed paying tribute to three incredibly talented guitar legends — Tony Iommi of BLACK SABBATHRitchie Blackmore of RAINBOW and Vivian Campbell from the DIO band, who has been a member of British stadium rockers DEF LEPPARD since 1992.

“Playing all these metal riffs like ‘Stand Up And Shout’‘Neon Knights’ and ‘Kill The King’ gave me serious chills,” grins Paul. “The guitar parts of RitchieTony and Vivian brought no small number of goosebumps.” “These amazing riffs are the steel girders of the songs, upon which everything else rests,” smiles Paul. “It had been a while since I’d been this deep into metal rhythm guitar playing, and it felt like I was digging up gold nuggets of fire with a magic platinum shovel. All while wearing a star-covered wizard hat! The guitar solos in these songs came screaming from distant mountaintops. RitchieTony, and Vivian set the standard breathtakingly high.”

Engineered by Zach Bloomstein with Paul handling all of the instrumentation, save for Bill Ray‘s inspired drum work, “The Dio Album” is undoubtedly the most sonically accurate tribute to the songs that made Ronnie James Dio a bona fide rock and roll legend. In order to truly hone in on the late singer’s essence, Paul Gilbert dissected many of the melodies line by line, throwing every inch of himself into the music. It was the only way to capture every ounce of the energy and emotion.

“Just like he sang: ‘The world is full of kings and queens who blind your eyes and steal your dreams… it’s Heaven and Hell!’ Thank you, Ronnie, and long live rock and roll.”

“The Dio Album” track listing:
01. Neon Knights
02. Kill The King
03. Stand Up And Shout
04. Country Girl
05. Man On The Silver Mountain
06. Holy Diver
07. Heaven And Hell
08. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll
09. Lady Evil
10. Don’t Talk To Strangers
11. Starstruck
12. The Last In Line

Socials media