Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

OBSIDIOUS release video for "Devotion"

Launch album pre-sales

Photo by Axel Winkler


OBSIDIOUS are now officially launching the pre-sales for their previously announced debut full-length, ‘Iconic,’ which is due on October 28 via Season of Mist! The album artwork, track-listing and additional info can be found below. In conjunction with the album sales start, the band are now revealing a brand new single “Devotion” along with a full band play-through video.

Watch “Devotion” below.

OBSIDIOUS comment: “This song is about cults, basing the story on one of the most controversial cases of the late 1970s. In this song there are two distinct voices that reflect the character of each of the protagonists: the raspy voice of the cult leader and the melodic, desperate voice of the follower trying to flee the place.‘Iconic’ can now be pre-ordered in various formats AT THIS LOCATION, while you can pre-save the album to all streaming services AT THIS LOCATION.

Watch the previously released ‘Bound by Fire’ and ‘Under Black Skies’ below.

In April 2020 guitarist Rafael Trujillo, bassist Linus Klausenitzer and drummer Sebastian Lanser decided to move on from their former band OBSCURA to continue their musical path with the completely new band OBSIDIOUS. Free from former boundaries, OBSIDIOUS merge extreme metal with other genres of music into a unique style that people will somehow find familiar, but haven‘t heard yet. Together with their singer Javi Perera they set out to create a musical evolution: With a fresh name, reaching for new fan groups utilizing modern marketing ideas. OBSIDIOUS’ band members have many facets and influences to build upon, using virtuosity & technique to write great songs. 

Rafael Trujillo, Linus Klausenitzer and Sebastian Lanser built a strong bond after years of worldwide touring and recording together with OBSCURA. With their last record “Diluvium”, that was primarily composed by the trio, the band celebrated their biggest success to date. Formerly unseen chart positions alongside massive praise by prominent media outlets & magazines document the success of this team. OBSIDIOUS aims to expand the existing fan base that they’ve gained: All (ex-)formations of the Obsidious members were defined through their musical characters. 

The four band members that are based in Europe are known for their high musicianship and virtuosity. Their advanced technical level is an essential and unique part of their compositions. Guitarist Rafael Trujillo has a multicultural background and studied music in different countries all around the globe. Linus Klausenitzer is one of the busiest session bassists in the scene and renowned for his 7-string fretless bass sound. Strong drum independence skills and stylistic diversity make Sebastian Lanser one of the most influential drummers of the new generation. The web community shares the Ex-Obscura members’ excitement about singer Javi Perera being celebrated for his diverse and charismatic vocal skills.

OBSIDIOUS‘ music consists of modern riffs, strong decisive energetic melodies, virtuosity and epic unison lines. They love music that’s heavy, catchy, fast, and wild. The brand new album is currently being recorded and will be released via Season of Mist early 2022.

Linus Klausenitzer – Bass
Rafael Tujillo – Guitar 
Javi Perera – Vocals 
Sebastian Lanser – Drums

The ‘Iconic’ cover artwork, which was created by Adrien Bousson, can be found below along with the track-list.

Track-list:1. Under Black Skies (6:00) [WATCH]2. Sense Of Lust (4:18) [WATCH]3. Iconic (6:40) [WATCH]4. Bound By Fire (5:12) [WATCH]5. Iron & Dust (6:01)6. I Am (6:56)7. Delusion (4:55)8. Devotion (4:59) [WATCH]9. Nowhere (4:18)10. Lake Of Afterlife (3:57)Total: 53:16

Formats:CD DigipakDigital2x 12” Gatefold (Black)2x 12” Gatefold (Cool Blue)2x 12” Gatefold (Orange)

Social media