Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

Meridian release 'The Sun Always Shines On TV' official video


Denmark’s melodic heavy rockers MERIDIAN are releasing the second single (out of six) from their upcoming EP of covers “Taking Cover”, coming later this year on Mighty Music. This time they cover the A-Ha classic, “The Sun Always Shines On TV”.

Each member of the band picked one song for the EP, and this one is chosen by guitarist and producer Marco Angioni, who says: “A-Ha has always been a guilty pleasure of mine. And also my wife is a huge Morten Harket fan. “The Sun Always Shines On TV” had all the potential for a hard rock rendition.”

Why covers? – Just for the fun of it! It happens to most bands. It certainly happens a lot in this band. Warming up at rehearsals someone starts playing a cool riff from the good old days. – Everybody joins in on the jam and 30 seconds later everybody stops, laugh and someone says: “That’s a cool song. We should make a cover of that someday”. Most often, that day never comes, but sometimes it does. Last year when the band finished recording the “Margin Of Error” album, one of the songs reminded Mighty Music CEO, Michael H. Andersen, of one of the greatest Danish bands from the 80’s, Skagarack, – and he suggested the band should do a cover of one of their songs. The idea stuck for a while, and the band decided that once they gathered in the studio, they could just as well record a couple of songs and make a covers EP – just for the fun of it! Choosing the songs was not easy. Every discussion always ended with over 20 good suggestions. So the band applied some rules. Each member should pick one song, and nobody could argue against it. So here we are, with six classic rock and pop songs from the 80’s, grinded through the Meridian machine, twisted a little bit to suite the Meridian sound and playing style, but still paying respect to the well-known originals. All six songs are released as digital singles over the summer, and the EP will be available in the autumn 2020.

Lars Märker –vocals
Martin J. Andersen –guitars & vocals
Marco Angioni –guitars & keyboards
Peter Bruun –bass
Klaus Agerbo –drums

Check de onderstaande socials voor meer informatie over deze band.