Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

EX DEO announces new album, The Thirteen Years Of Nero, via Napalm Records

Watch the Official Music Video for New Single “Imperator”


Four years after the release of The Immortal Wars (2017), Juno Award-nominated EX DEO returns with their upcoming full-length album, The Thirteen Years Of Nero, out August 27, 2021 via Napalm Records. The Canadian unit is led by founding frontman Maurizio Iacono (Kataklysm) and producer/guitarist Jean-François Dagenais (Kataklysm, Misery Index, Despised Icon), with the stylings of Stephane Barbe (Kataklysm) on lead guitar, Jeramie Kling (Venom Inc.) on drums, Dano Apekian (Ashes of Eden) on bass and Clemens Wijers (Carach Angren, Lindemann) manning the orchestral score. Today, EX DEO has revealed a new track from The Thirteen Years Of Nero, entitled “Imperator”, alongside a cinematic music video.

Watch “Imperator” below.

Frontman Maurizio Iacono says about “Imperator”:

“We wanted to release a heavy hitting first single and there was no doubt that “Imperator” in all of its grandiose aura and power was the choice. On the album, the song introduces Nero as the new Emperor of Rome. For the video, we used acclaimed video director Scott Hansen and together we recreated a dinner party in true Nero style like you never seen before, you have been warned!”

Maurizio Iacono says about The Thirteen Years Of Nero:

“When it comes to Ancient Rome, the content is long, rich and extensive, the personalities reflect every society imaginable from just, fair and generous to greed, evil and merciless. The world we live in today was shaped by Rome – it doesn’t take much see it all around you in the simplest things. For this record, it was the proper time to fallow the timeline of one Rome’s most controversial figures, Nero. On this album, we follow him through his thirteen-year journey as emperor of Rome and unveil the true face of one of the world’s most worshiped villains.”

Pre-Order The Thirteen Years Of Nero AT THIS LOCATION.

The Thirteen Years Of Nero tracklisting:
1. The Fall of Claudius
2. Imperator
3. The Head of the Snake
4. Boudicca (Queen of the Iceni) Feat. Brittney Slayes
5. Britannia: The 9th at Camulodonum
6. Trial of the Gods (Intermezzo)
7. The Fiddle & the Fire
8. Son of the Deified
9. What Artist Dies in Me…
10. The Revolt of Galba

The Thirteen Years Of Nero will be available in the following formats:
-4 page CD Digipack
-LP Gatefold Black
-LP Gatefold Marbled Black & White (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 300 worldwide)
-Deluxe Wooden Box Edition: Digipack, Bonus Orchestral CD, Roman Coin, Band Logo Patch and Roman Banner (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 500)
-CD Digipack & Shirt Bundle (RoW Napalm mailorder only)
-Digital Album

EX DEO is:
Maurizio Iacono – Vocals
Jean-François Dagenais – Guitars
Stephane Barbe – Lead Guitar
Dano Apekian – Bass
Jeramie Kling – Drums
Clements Wijers – Orchestral Score

Social media