Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

DIMMU BORGIR's Silenoz: “we have been working on new music for quite a while”


In an interview with Jerry Kurunen of Finland’s Rauta conducted at this year’s Inferno festival, which took place in March 2024 in Oslo, Norway, DIMMU BORGIR guitarist Silenoz spoke about the progress of the songwriting sessions for the band’s long-awaited new studio album. He said:  ”Well, we are working on new stuff. We have been working on, on and off, new stuff for quite a while. Also during the pandemic, there was some downtime where we worked on stuff on our own, individually, and then we meet and try to concoct a new brew, so to speak.

“I think the fans are, like, ‘Ah, you have to get out a new album,’ and blah, blah, blah, blah, but the thing is that we rather take our time and even take one year extra to make it better than good, if you know what I mean,” he explained. “Obviously, we would also like to have an album out as soon as we can, but we’re not gonna do that just to have it out.”

Asked about DIMMU BORGIR‘s stylistic changes over the years, particularly as it pertains to veering away from traditional Norwegian black metal, Silenoz said: “I think even on the first album, we started to drift off from the traditional so-called underground black metal thing. And we’ve always looked upon ourselves as something more than just that term. And it’s better to not be able to be labeled as this or that. It’s better that either you like the music, it gives you something, or it doesn’t touch you — it’s ‘either or’, basically. So, we always wanted to do different, new stuff on every album — that’s very important for us — but the thing is that it comes naturally. We don’t sit down and decide, ‘Oh, today we’re gonna make this and this type of song.’ It just comes in. And then if we like it, then we keep it. It’s pretty much that simple. But (2018’s) ‘Eonian’ is probably more orchestrated, which kind of started with ‘Abrahadabra’ in 2010. I mean, we always had that element, but we took it as far as we felt we could take it. Now maybe — who knows what the next one will sound like? It just takes on its own life, basically.”

On the topic of DIMMU BORGIR‘s lineup changes over the years, particularly in the band’s earlier days, Silenoz said: “I think after so many years, you kind of get to know yourself better. So that opens up for knowing the person around you better as well. I know that sounds weird. But I think age has definitely something to do with it. And it’s also important not only to be good in the writing moment, off stage you also have to get along really well. And I think that the age thing comes in there. So, yeah, it’s good to have a more stable lineup.”

DIMMU BORGIR have released their cover version of the DEEP PURPLE classic “Perfect Strangers”. The song is taken from DIMMU BORGIR‘s collection of cover songs, “Inspiratio Profanus”, which was made available on December 8 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Watch “Perfect Strangers” below.

DIMMU BORGIR guitarist Sven Atle Kopperud (a.k.a. Silenoz) comments: “The idea of doing ‘Perfect Strangers’ came about quite a while before we actually got around to recording it. It’s a known song by a very well-known band that has influenced many to pick up an instrument. I mean, is there anyone who doesn’t like DEEP PURPLE?! We incorporated our little twist to it while at the same time wanted to stay close to the original. But perhaps it is the more obvious aspects that come to mind when hearing it; the integration between the main musical elements that we also made use of since the beginning like keyboards and guitars.”

Watch the previously released VENOM cover of ‘Black Metal’ below.

Silenoz comments about the album Inspiratio Profanus: “We’re pleased to announce the Inspiratio Profanus release! We thought it was about time to finally compile the cover songs we’ve done over the years and give these renditions an updated mastering, all in one package, highlighting some of our many influences!”
Silenoz states about the first song ‘Black Metal’: “Black Metal, the track and its origin, features something really primeval, raw and unhinged. There is lawlessness and danger connected to it. We did our best to capture the spirit of the ancient gods’ rock ’n roll 24 years later. Did we do it justice? I think so.”             

Pre-Order Inspiratio Profanus + listen to ‘Black Metal’ AT THIS LOCATION.

Inspiratio Profanus Tracklist:
1. Black Metal (Venom)
2. Satan My Master (Bathory)
3. Dead Men Don’t Rape (G.G.F.H.)
4. Nocturnal Fear (Celtic Frost)
5. Burn In Hell (Twisted Sister)
6. Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple)
7. Metal Heart (Accept)
8. Nocturnal Fear (Celtically Processed)  (Celtic Frost)

Social media