Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

CYNIC premieres "In a Multiverse Where Atoms Sing" and shares drum playthrough


CYNIC will release its new full-length album, “Ascension Codes”, on November 26 via Season Of Mist. The band is now sharing the brand new single, “In a Multiverse Where Atoms Sing”. The song is available in the form of a drum playthrough performed by Matt Lynch.

Stream the drum playthrough of “In a Multiverse Where Atoms Sing” below.

“In a Multiverse Where Atoms Sing” can be pre-saved to streaming services AT THIS LOCATION.

Stream the previously released “Mythical Serpents” below.

Pre-orders for ‘Ascension Codes’ are now live at the Season of Mist E-Shop, the CYNIC Bandcamp, and official CYNIC shop.

Michael Berberian, president and founder of Season Of Mist, adds: “I have, by now, released close to one thousand albums. None have been more dramatic, none have even been more difficult than this one. I can’t listen to ‘Ascension Codes’ without goose bumps, a mixed feeling of pride — because it’s a musical milestone, but it also contains a lingering layer of sadness. I hear Paul‘s pain on this record. I can feel it, I can touch it. But it’s transcended. ‘Art is to console those who are broken by life,’ said Van Gogh. Here is a demonstration of that.”

With Paul Masvidal, Matt Lynch and Dave Mackay at the core, Cynic utilized a variety of other artists to help achieve their vision for Ascension Codes, some of the key players include:DARK (Roopam Garg) performs as “code worker” on the album, providing harmonic, harp-like guitar textures. DARK also known for his other works with “The Surrealist” is an experimental, ambient artist, pushing the avant-garde guitar envelope using extended techniques and consciousness inspired soundscapes.Max Phelps contributes “holographic-reptilian-voices” on multiple tracks. Phelps toured with Cynic in the Carbon-Based Anatomy and Kindly Bent to Free Us eras, and his own progressive metal band, Exist, have released music on Prosthetic Records. Phelps also took part in Death tribute band, Death to All.Plini guest solos on “The Winged Ones.” Plini is an an Australian guitarist and composer, producing heart-fueled, progressive instrumental rock. He opened shows for Cynic in Japan, which happened to be their final live performances as a trio with Reinert/Malone.Additional contributors:Anrita Melchizedek is a renowned priestess, healer, galactic ambassador, among other pursuits, and provides vocals to the opening and closing code interludes (“Mu-54*” and “Ec-ka72”). Amy Correia and Joshua Leon vocalize light language and phrases on various code interludes. Amy appeared on Traced in Air and 2011’s Carbon-Based Anatomy EP,and plays with Masvidal in the Onward with Love (OwL) project. Michael Devin plays crystal bowls on some of the code interludes. Devin is also a bassist and has played with the Jason Bonham Led Zeppelin Evening, George Lynch, and Whitesnake. Ezekiel Kaplan contributed a vocal harmony to the final track “Diamond Light Body.”

Track listing:

01. Mu-54* (0:32)
02. The Winged Ones (5:08)
03. A’-va432 (0:28)
04. Elements And Their Inhabitants (3:09)
05. Ha-144 (0:30)
06. Mythical Serpents (6:24)
07. Sha48* (0:19)
08. 6th Dimensional Archetype (4:07)
09. DNA Activation Template (5:25)
10. Shar-216 (0:23)
11. Architects Of Consciousness (6:20)
12. DA’z-a86.4 (0:34)
13. Aurora (4:34)
14. DU-*61.714285 (0:30)
15. In A Multiverse Where Atoms Sing (3:48)
16. A’jha108 (0:28)
17. Diamond Light Body (5:43)
18. Ec-ka72 (0:47)

Recording Lineup:Paul Masvidal – Guitars, Vocals, LyricsDave Mackay – Bass Synthesizer, KeyboardsMatt Lynch – DrumscapesGuest Musicians:Guitar Codes ^ Artifacts: DarkVoice Code Activations: Anrita MelchizedekReptilian Collective: Max PhelpsTWO Soloscape: PliniCrystal Bowl Attunements: Michael DevinLight Language Teachers: Amy Correia ^ Joshua LeonDLB MetaTerrestrial: Ezekial Kaplan

Social media