Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

CANNIBAL CORPSE: CORPSEGRINDER-era albums to be released on cassette

Photo by Alex Morgan


On September 15, Hells Headbangers will release on cassette tape a grand total of ten albums and one EP from the legendary death metal band CANNIBAL CORPSE. Each of these tape editions will be strictly limited to 300 copies and will feature special all-over print on the shell, making for an essential collector’s item.

Since their formation in 1988, there’s arguably been no band more influential and enduring than CANNIBAL CORPSE. While many of their old contemporaries have broken up or (worse) wimped out, CANNIBAL CORPSE continues to be the flagship band for the artform of true, uncompromising death metal. Amazingly, having released 16 albums to date and touring nonstop across the globe, the band are as vital now as they’ve ever been; rarely do you hear someone say, “I only like the early stuff” about CANNIBAL CORPSE.

With that in mind — and, of course, being longtime fans of the band — Hells Headbangers will release on limited-edition tape the following CANNIBAL CORPSE recordings, all featuring inimitable frontman George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher:

Vile (1996)
Gallery Of Suicide (1998)
Bloodthirst (1999)
Gore Obsessed (1999)
Worm Infested EP (2003)
The Wretched Spawn (2004)
Kill (2006)
Evisceration Plague (2009)
Torture (2012)
A Skeletal Domain (2014)
Red Before Black (2017)

While there’s undoubtedly a legion of fans of the band’s Chris Barnes-fronted albums, CANNIBAL CORPSE just as undoubtedly became sicker and more lethal with Corspegrinder on the mic, dependably delivering the goods free of trends. In fact, one could say that any one of these albums served as an entry point for newer generations of death metal fanatics, thereby cementing both CANNIBAL CORPSE‘s legendry and influencing countless bands since.

Officially licensed from Metal BladeHells Headbangers is honored to make these 11 crucial cannibal corpse recordings available again on cassette tape, in a manner aesthetically pleasing to the band’s gore-obsessed ways. Ordering information can be found here.

CANNIBAL CORPSE‘s sixteenth studio album, “Chaos Horrific”, is due on September 22 via Metal Blade Records.

Watch “Summoned For Sacrifice” below.

Of the band’s second single, “Summoned For Sacrifice,” themed around the selection of an individual to be dismembered, drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz elaborates, “One person is randomly selected to die. Thirteen people are randomly selected to kill this person by violently removing pieces of his body until he breathes no more.”

Watch  the previously released “Blood Blind” below.

Written shortly after the conclusion of the “Violence Unimagined” sessions, echoes of that album exist in “Chaos Horrific”.

“To me, this album feels sort of like a continuation of ‘Violence Unimagined’,” says bassist Alex Webster.

The bandmembers have always been noted for technicality and complex songwriting, but that doesn’t define where the writing process takes them.

“I believe that our songwriting has progressed in a manner where every song paves its own path, whether it’s a straightforward or technical song,” notes guitarist Rob Barrett. “Sometimes it’s a mix of both, so there’s no preconceived idea that we want to be more technical. The music just sort of takes its own course.”

Webster concurs: “I don’t think there was any conscious effort to make things more technical, so if it wound up that way it would just be a natural result of us trying to write the heaviest songs we could.”

CANNIBAL CORPSE had no master plan, approaching each track with an open mind.

“I never go into a record thinking about anything, I just let the writing flow freely with no limitations,” says guitarist/producer Erik Rutan. “But this time, I knew I wanted to push the envelope a bit in a different direction than ‘Violence Unimagined’ — expand the dynamics, explore new territory without departing from what CANNIBAL CORPSE is and always shall be.”

Rutan has now produced six CANNIBAL CORPSE albums, starting with 2006’s “Kill”, and this is Rutan‘s second release as a full-fledged member, since officially joining in 2020. Tracking at Rutan‘s Mana Studio in Florida, the band’s home state, was comfortable for all involved, who were at the top of their game and ready to give it their all. Things went smoother than ever, particularly on the guitar front thanks to Barrett and Rutan having “custom guitars built with longer scale necks to hold the proper intonation necessary for lower tunings,” says Barrett.

Drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz named the record and his cohorts felt it was a great representation of the band. Subjects covered include fighting off hordes of zombies (“Chaos Horrific”),the selection of a random individual to be dismembered and sacrificed (“Summoned For Sacrifice”),and the violent revenge of victims of human trafficking (“Vengeful Invasion”). The album artwork by longtime collaborator Vince Locke is also suitably CANNIBAL CORPSE-esque, featuring a chaotic tangle of the living and the undead, evoking the lyrics of the title track.

Mazurkiewicz says: “‘Blood Blind’ is about mass mutilations to reset the human race in a genocide that was embraced by the masses.” Rutan adds: “‘Blood Blind’ was the first song musically that I wrote for ‘Chaos Horrific’. It all started with that funeral march of a first riff floating around in my head and it took off from there. Heavy and disturbing, it worked its way into an aggressive smorgasbord of depth and swirling darkness! I thought it would be great to collaborate so I had Paul add his lyrical stamp to it…”

“Chaos Horrific” track listing:
01. Overlords Of Violence
02. Frenzied Feeding
03. Summoned For Sacrifice
04. Blood Blind
05. Vengeful Invasion
06. Chaos Horrific
07. Fracture And Refracture
08. Pitchfork Impalement
09. Pestilential Rictus
10. Drain You Empty

Social media