Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

Official CANNIBAL CORPSE coloring book coming in December


U.K. independent publisher Rock N’ Roll Colouring has unveiled the first official coloring book from CANNIBAL CORPSE, death metal’s most notorious, explicit and successful band.

Featuring iconic artwork and instantly recognizable images all printed on high quality paper in a square format officially licensed and fully endorsed by both CANNIBAL CORPSE and artist Vince Locke, these amazing designs have the potential for hours of satisfying coloring in. The book encourages you to revel in every horrific detail of Vince Locke‘s unhinged imagery, letting your imagination run riot as you create your own personalized versions of your favorite nightmarish CANNIBAL CORPSE designs.

The book contains painstakingly created renderings of each image with detailed outlines ready for you to unleash your artistic skills using pens, pencils or paint. Including artwork from genre classics such as “Tomb Of The Mutilated”“Butchered At Birth” and “Eaten Back To Life”, right up to the band’s latest album “Chaos Horrific”, the book contains some of the nastiest, sickest, gore-filled and blood-drenched designs ever. Working closely with artist Vince Locke, who personally curated the book, these images are not for the faint hearted, but are perfect for fans of graphic horror fantasy art, coupled with devotees of the most deranged death metal in history.

Celebrating the release of his first coloring book, Vince enthuses: “Going over art for the book, it was surprising to see just how much 30 years of collaboration yielded. It’s rare that I see it all compiled together. There are a few pieces that had to be included, some that were favorites of myself or the band, and some that just lent themselves well to coloring. I’m always playing, trying different materials and techniques. Hope you do the same with these coloring pages. Try watercolor markers, crayons, and colored pencils, adding your own details. You’ll probably go through a lot of red, but be creative, have fun, make it your own.”

Reflecting on his band’s unlikely entry into the world of coloring books, CANNIBAL CORPSE bassist Alex Webster says; “This book is a great new way for CANNIBAL CORPSE fans to enjoy the incredible artwork of Vincent Locke.”

Devised and created by two lifelong rock and heavy metal devotees and coloring book fans, Rock N’ Roll Colouring was formed by fans for fans. Every effort has gone into making sure this book does justice to the legacy of CANNIBAL CORPSE and their sensationally graphic art, courtesy of the incredible Vince Locke, painstakingly re-creating some of the most controversial death metal images of all time to ensure that fans everywhere get the most shocking creative experience possible.

Coloring has proven significant mental health benefits including mindfulness, relaxation and increased focus and can be enjoyed by any age group. These books provide hours of creative and restful activity that combines the love of the music with the love of the art.

The CANNIBAL CORPSE book follows on from the previous Rock N’ Roll Colouring releases from heavy music icons such as IRON MAIDENALICE COOPERMOTÖRHEADJUDAS PRIESTTHIN LIZZY and MEGADETH.

The book is published on December 1, 2023, available for worldwide shipping* (*except Germany, where the book is not available),and can be exclusively pre-ordered via Eyesore Merch. A limited number of the books will be available with an exclusive postcard hand signed by Vince Locke.

CANNIBAL CORPSE released a new song called “Summoned For Sacrifice” including a video last August. The track is taken from the death metal veterans’ sixteenth studio album, Chaos Horrific, which is due on September 22 via Metal Blade Records.  The CANNIBAL CORPSE “Summoned For Sacrifice” video was directed by David Brodsky and produced by Allison Woest of My Good Eye: Music Visuals.

Watch “Summoned For Sacrifice” below.

Of the band’s second single, “Summoned For Sacrifice,” themed around the selection of an individual to be dismembered, drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz elaborates, “One person is randomly selected to die. Thirteen people are randomly selected to kill this person by violently removing pieces of his body until he breathes no more.”

Watch  the previously released “Blood Blind” below.

Written shortly after the conclusion of the “Violence Unimagined” sessions, echoes of that album exist in “Chaos Horrific”.

“To me, this album feels sort of like a continuation of ‘Violence Unimagined’,” says bassist Alex Webster.

The bandmembers have always been noted for technicality and complex songwriting, but that doesn’t define where the writing process takes them.

“I believe that our songwriting has progressed in a manner where every song paves its own path, whether it’s a straightforward or technical song,” notes guitarist Rob Barrett. “Sometimes it’s a mix of both, so there’s no preconceived idea that we want to be more technical. The music just sort of takes its own course.”

Webster concurs: “I don’t think there was any conscious effort to make things more technical, so if it wound up that way it would just be a natural result of us trying to write the heaviest songs we could.”

CANNIBAL CORPSE had no master plan, approaching each track with an open mind.

“I never go into a record thinking about anything, I just let the writing flow freely with no limitations,” says guitarist/producer Erik Rutan. “But this time, I knew I wanted to push the envelope a bit in a different direction than ‘Violence Unimagined’ — expand the dynamics, explore new territory without departing from what CANNIBAL CORPSE is and always shall be.”

Rutan has now produced six CANNIBAL CORPSE albums, starting with 2006’s “Kill”, and this is Rutan‘s second release as a full-fledged member, since officially joining in 2020. Tracking at Rutan‘s Mana Studio in Florida, the band’s home state, was comfortable for all involved, who were at the top of their game and ready to give it their all. Things went smoother than ever, particularly on the guitar front thanks to Barrett and Rutan having “custom guitars built with longer scale necks to hold the proper intonation necessary for lower tunings,” says Barrett.

Drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz named the record and his cohorts felt it was a great representation of the band. Subjects covered include fighting off hordes of zombies (“Chaos Horrific”),the selection of a random individual to be dismembered and sacrificed (“Summoned For Sacrifice”),and the violent revenge of victims of human trafficking (“Vengeful Invasion”). The album artwork by longtime collaborator Vince Locke is also suitably CANNIBAL CORPSE-esque, featuring a chaotic tangle of the living and the undead, evoking the lyrics of the title track.

Mazurkiewicz says: “‘Blood Blind’ is about mass mutilations to reset the human race in a genocide that was embraced by the masses.” Rutan adds: “‘Blood Blind’ was the first song musically that I wrote for ‘Chaos Horrific’. It all started with that funeral march of a first riff floating around in my head and it took off from there. Heavy and disturbing, it worked its way into an aggressive smorgasbord of depth and swirling darkness! I thought it would be great to collaborate so I had Paul add his lyrical stamp to it…”

“Chaos Horrific” track listing:
01. Overlords Of Violence
02. Frenzied Feeding
03. Summoned For Sacrifice
04. Blood Blind
05. Vengeful Invasion
06. Chaos Horrific
07. Fracture And Refracture
08. Pitchfork Impalement
09. Pestilential Rictus
10. Drain You Empty

Social media