Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE release new track 'Glory to the King'

picture credit: Omar Ahmed


UK trio BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE are now releasing the new single ‘Glory To The King’. The track is taken from the upcoming album “Tempus Veritas”, which will be released upon this earth on April 14, 2023 via Season of Mist.

Watch ‘Glory To The King’ below.

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE comment on the video: “We’re super proud of this song – it’s one of the biggest choruses on Tempus Veritas. The middle section also has some of our favourite vocal harmonic moments, with a crazy riff hitting straight after. The lyrical narrative explores the relationship between an early Meso-American emperor Montezuma and the explorer and conquistador Hernán Cortés. The story, told from the point of view of Montezuma, imagines that the new arrival was initially seen as a god – assumed to be the deity Quetzalcoatl. When Cortes cuts himself and is seen bleeding, the mirage is shattered and the Aztec ruler goes to war with the people he now realises are merely men.” 
Watch the previously released ‘Deny The Sun’ below.

Pre-orders are now available AT THIS LOCATION. The album can be pre-saved on various digital platforms AT THIS LOCATION.Speaking about the lead single Paul Visser says: “Deny The Sun is the first song we wrote for Tempus Veritas and we love how hard the riff goes!  We’ve been pushing more and more into the technical side of our music for this album and this track is a great example of that. Lyrically it deals with Galileo’s ideas about the central nature of the sun and the clash with religious views at the time, written from the point of view of his friend Pope Urban VIII who found himself in an impossible position and ended up condemning the astronomer. Our friend and long-time collaborator Alina Gordienco made the amazing video in LA, starring the wonderful Irina Dudyk as the sun goddess.  Her work is consistently inspired and we love what she did for this song!

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE comment on the album: “Interwoven with the fabric of our history as a species are countless opportunities for stories. Little pieces of imagined narrative, set within events we all collectively know as historical, that seek to explore what it means to be human – this is the idea behind Tempus Veritas. Whereas Semaphore looked to the future, this record reinvents the past, wondering what it was like to be inside the mind of a person living through times of consequence. Musically, we continue to seek the boundary between the savagely technical and the undeniably beautiful and attempt to push it as far as possible. We poured our entire creative beings into making this album – we sincerely hope you enjoy it.

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE are furthermore releasing the cover artwork and further album details for “Tempus Veritas”. 


1. Tempus Veritas (1:24)2. Hydrogen (3:57)3. The Raven (3:41)4. Last Ronin (4:27)5. Scarlet Haze (3:42)6. Deny The Sun (3:15) [WATCH]7. Glory To The King (3:37)8. Summit (3:07)9. Weakness (2:49)10. Vesuvius (3:44)11. Latimer (3:43)Total: 37:26

Recording studio:The Recording Studio London Producer / sound engineer:Produced by Black Orchid EmpirePaul Visser (engineer)Dobromir Vasilev (assistant engineer) Mixing studio and engineer:The Recording Studio LondonPaul Visser (mix engineer) Mastering studio and engineer:Systematic ProductionsErmin Hamidovic (mastering engineer) Line-up:Paul Visser: Vocals | GuitarDave Ferguson: Bass | VocalsBilly Freedom: DrumsCover artwork: Black Orchid Empire & Ines Hernandez