Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

AMORPHIS members join forces in new band OCTOPLOID

Photo credit: Päivi Leino - L-R: Mikko Pietinen (drums, percussion), Olli-Pekka Laine (bass, keyboards, backing vocals), Peter Salonen (guitars)


Having a long history as a songwriter himself, it’s been AMORPHIS bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine’s dream since his early youth to dive deep into a pool of musical influences and to melt them into what has now culminated in his new band OCTOPLOID. Their debut work entitled »Beyond The Aeons« will be presented to the world on July 5, 2024 through Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM), and add another colourful dash to the company’s arising label picture.

Oppu comments, “I have been dreaming of making music on my own terms for a long time, and in that sense, OCTOPLOID marks a significant turning point in my musical career. The realization of the album required the right moment, the right people, and the right mindset to come to fruition. My musical roots still lie in the metal music of the 80s and 90s as well as the progressive rock of the 70s. Combined with psychedelia and stoner rock, we are already approaching the basic elements of the »Beyond The Aeons« album.”

The group’s music blends many different styles what may seem a far stretch, but all these musical vibes, that also attracted several illustrious guest musicians to contribute their special touches, end up blending together in a well-rounded sonic cast that has been described as “classic death prog.”

“I feel privileged to be able to work with talented musicians and representatives of the music technology, not to mention having the opportunity to travel the world with comrades and to meet numerous great people in the metal scene. Additionally, collaborating with the great and beautiful Reigning Phoenix Music label is something I am truly excited about,” Oppu adds.

RPM representative Ute Linhart says, “Our whole team at Reigning Phoenix Music couldn’t be more excited that Oppu has chosen us over many others to be his partners in crime for years to come and to keep things ‘in the family’ alongside his main gig with AMORPHIS!”

Being able to shine not only by lending the album his signature bass grooves in this formation, but also contributing additional keyboard, guitar and vocal parts, Oppu is looking forward to a long creative future alongside his OCTOPLOID bandmates Mikko Pietinen (drums), Peter Salonen (guitars) and Kim Rantala (keyboards), with Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN) joining them indefinitely on lead vocals for live activities.

»Beyond The Aeons« undoubtedly contains many familiar elements, but what kind of connections it will draw in people’s minds, that’s for listeners to decide. Pre-save ‘Human Amoral,’ the record’s first sonic preview being set to be unveiled on April 19, 2024, here: https://octoploid.rpm.link/humanamoralPR

Mikko Kotamäki | vocals (live)
Peter Salonen | guitars
Kim Rantala | keyboards
Olli-Pekka Laine | bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Mikko Pietinen | drums, percussion

Social media