Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER announces first album since TREVOR STRNAD's passing

Photo by Marshall Wieczorek


THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER will release its tenth studio album, “Servitude”, on September 27 via Metal Blade Records, today unveiling the record’s first single and preorders. In conjunction with the announcement the band now release the single “and video for the song “Aftermath”, created by My Good Eye: Music Visuals.

Watch “Aftermath” below.

“Before the tragedy, no one ever thought this band was going to exist without Trevor.”

That’s THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER‘s co-founder Brian Eschbach telling it like it is. With the tragic passing of the band’s frontman and co-founder Trevor Strnad in 2022, Eschbach, bassist Max Lavelle, drummer Alan Cassidy and producer/guitarist Brandon Ellis were faced with a decision: close the door on one of the most beloved death metal bands of the last twenty years, or carry on in their fallen brother’s charismatic spirit?

“Everyone that’s in the band now is someone that Trevor and I searched for,” Eschbach says. “We spent so much time on the road together that everyone understands the mission statement. We don’t really need to talk about it. We just need to make great music and try to make people happy playing it.”

After a period of profound grief and deep soul-searching, Eschbach moved from guitar to vocals, setting aside his lifelong identity as a live guitarist for the survival of the band. Former THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER member Ryan Knight returned to the fold to take Eschbach‘s place on guitar. The new lineup made their debut in the band’s hometown of Detroit in late October 2022 for a tribute show for Strnad.

“Servitude” will be released on digipak CD, cassette and digital formats as well as vinyl.

“Servitude” track listing:
01. Evening Ephemeral
02. Panic Hysteric
03. Aftermath
04. Cursed Creator
05. An Intermission
06. Asserting Dominion
07. Servitude
08. Mammoth’s Hand
09. Transcosmic Blueprint
10. Utopia Black

THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER 2024 European tour dates:
Jun. 14 – Z! Live Rock Fest – Zamora, ES
Jun. 16 – Download Donington – Park, UK
Jun. 17 – Limelight – Belfast, UK
Jun. 18 – Opium – Dublin, IE
Jun. 20 – Arch Club – Athens, GR
Jun. 21 – Block 33 – Thessaloniki, GR
Jun. 23 – Graspop – Dessel, BE
Jun. 24 – Hirsch – Nuremberg, DE w/ Suffocation
Jun. 25 – The Black Lab – Lille, FR w/ Suffocation
Jun. 26 – Im Wizemann – Stuttgart, DE w/ Shadow Of Intent
Jun. 27 – Mergener – Hof Trier, DE
Jun. 28 – Club Vaudeville – Lindau, DE w/ Suffocation
Jun. 29 – Jera On Air – Ysselsteyn, NL
Jun. 30 – Hellfest – Clisson, FR
Jul. 31 – Rockstadt Extreme Fest – Brasov, RO
Aug. 02 – Dortmund Deathfest – Dortmund, DE
Aug. 03 – Wacken Open Air – Wacken, DE
Aug. 04 – Full Rewind – Roitzschjora, DE
Aug. 06 – Lifestyle Café – Cham, DE
Aug. 07 – Brutal Assault – Jaromer, CZ
Aug. 08 – Party San Open Air – Schlotheim, DE
Aug. 09 – Szene – Wien, AT
Aug. 10 – Menza Pri Koritu – Ljubljana, SI
Aug. 11 – Slaughter Club – Milano, IT
Aug. 13 – Rockhouse – Salzburg, AT
Aug. 14 – Kiff – Aarau, CH
Aug. 15 – Summer Breeze – Dinkelsbuhl, DE
Aug. 16 – Reload Festival – Sulingen, DE
Aug. 17 – Chinasstraat – Gent, BE w/ Decapitated
Aug. 18 – Motocultor – Carhaix, FR

Brian Eschbach – lead vocals
Max Lavelle – bass
Alan Cassidy – drums
Brandon Ellis – lead guitar, backing vocals
Ryan Knight – rhythm guitar, backing vocals

Social media