Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

SOULFLY presented with key to city Albuquerque


The members of SOULFLY were presented with the key to the city by Albuquerque, New Mexico’s mayor Tim Keller prior to the band’s concert last weekend (Saturday, January 28) at the Launchpad venue. Keller also introduced SOULFLY at the gig (see video below, courtesy of Scottsterb b), which is part of the Max Cavalera-fronted outfit’s massive U.S. tour which kicked off three days earlier in Tucson, Arizona.

A short time before the Albuquerque gig, SOULFLY shared a pre-show photo of the band and wrote in a caption: “ALBUQUERQUE TONIGHT! MAYOR JUST GAVE US THE KEY 2 THE CITY”

Last October, SOULFLY posted a photo of Keller donning one of the band’s long-sleeve t-shirts when he cast his ballot in the U.S. 2022 midterm election.

This was not the first time Keller had sported heavy metal merchandise in public. Three years ago, Keller donned a MACHINE HEAD hooded sweatshirt when he cast his ballot in the U.S. presidential election. Back in December 2018, he wore a PANTERA Christmas sweater for a signing of a bill granting family paid parental leave to city employees. The legislation made Albuquerque the first city in New Mexico to extend paid parental leave benefits to its municipal workforce.

Born and raised in Albuquerque, Keller is well-known as a fan of heavy metal music and has often attended shows in the city. He has also introduced metal bands, including ANTHRAX and TRIVIUM, onstage.

“Albuquerque has always been pretty strong on the heavy metal front,” Keller told The New York Times five years ago. “What can I say, this is something I’ve been into for a long time.”

Keller told the Albuquerque Journal that his favorite heavy metal group is the Brazilian band SEPULTURA, of whom Cavalera is a founding member. “They are awesome,” he said. “It’s the music of empowerment.”

Keller, a Democrat, took over as mayor of New Mexico’s largest city in December 2017. He replaced two-term mayor Richard Berry, who did not seek re-election.

SOULFLY releases its last album ‘Totem’ last August on Nuclear Blast Records. 

Max Cavalera comments on the album: “‘Totem’ is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a two-year journey writing with my son and SOULFLY drummer Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun and the anger in metal.”

“Totem” track listing:

01. Superstition
02. Scouring The Vile
03. Filth Upon Filth
04. Rot In Pain
05. The Damage Done
06. Totem
07. Ancestors
08. Ecstasy Of Gold
09. Soulfly XII
10. Spirit Animal

In August, SOULFLY parted ways with longtime guitarist Marc Rizzo due to personal differences. A permanent replacement guitarist has yet to be announced. FEAR FACTORY‘s Dino Cazares played guitar for SOULFLY on the summer 2021 U.S. tour and once again handled second-guitar duties on the band’s most recent run of shows.

‘Totem’ will be available in the following formats:

  • CD Jewelcase
  • Blue Cassette (Limited to 300)
  • Long Box 
    • CD Jewelcase
    • Sticker
    • Pin
  • Vinyl
    • Black
    • Gold

Social media