Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

SAXON is demoing material for next album


In a new interview with Metal PilgrimSAXON frontman Biff Byford spoke about the progress of the songwriting sessions for the band’s next studio album. He said: “Well, we’re just demoing tracks at the moment. It’ll sound fantastic. What can I say? But we’re demoing tracks at the moment. We’re working on the music. I’m asking the guys to push themselves and come up with some great riffs and things. And that’s what we’re doing, really. So we’re just putting the music together now. It’ll be maybe a couple of weeks before I start singing on the demos. And then once that’s done, it’s pretty straightforward then; the recording process is pretty straightforward. There are no surprises. We know what we’re doing.”

Asked about the musical direction of SAXON‘s upcoming LP, Biff said: “It’ll be like (2022’s) ‘Carpe Diem’ and (2018’s) ‘Thunderbolt’. It’ll be a great SAXON album.”

SAXON guitarist Paul Quinn recently announced that he was stepping back from touring with the band. As a result of his decision, SAXON cancelled its April 2023 South American tour as well as the appearance at the Monsters Of Rock cruise.

SAXON‘s latest release, More Inspirations, arrived on March 24 via Silver Lining Music. Following the release of “Inspirations” in 2021, “More Inspirations” is the second “deep dish” serving of the influences which have fed SAXON‘s immensely successful 40-plus-year career.

Produced by Biff, with Seb Byford helping record the music alongside mixing engineer Jacky Lehmann“More Inspirations” includes takes on RAINBOWZZ TOP and CREAM, as well as “Razamanaz” by NAZARETHTHE WHO‘s “Substitute”, and URIAH HEEP‘s “Gypsy”.

Byford and Quinn are the sole remaining original members in SAXON‘s current lineup.

Originally from South Yorkshire, England, SAXON has gone on to sell about 23 million albums and has produced such classic songs as “Denim And Leather”“Princess Of The Night”“Wheels Of Steel” and “Power And Glory”.

“More Inspirations” is available on 12-inch black vinyl, CD digipak, digital formats and special D2C bundles.

Track listing:

01. We’ve Gotta Get Out Of This Place
02. The Faith Healer
03. From The Inside
04. Chevrolet
05. Substitute
06. Gypsy
07. Man On The Silver Mountain
08. Detroit Rock City
09. Razamanaz
10. Tales Of Brave Ulysses

SAXON guitarist Paul Quinn announced to step away from touring with Saxon.

Social media