Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

SADUS announces first album in 16 years, 'The Shadow Inside'


San Francisco Bay Area thrash metal legends SADUS will make their long-awaited return this fall with the release of their first album in 16 years, “The Shadow Inside”, on November 17 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Reunited in 2017, the band spent the last several years writing the record at their own pace, impervious to outside trends and influences, and recently finished recording with Juan Urteaga (EXODUSTESTAMENTMACHINE HEAD) at Trident Studios.

Featuring ominous artwork by accomplished artist Travis Smith (FLESHGOD APOCALPYSEOPETH),“The Shadow Inside” is a contemporary thrash classic with colossal, groove-laden riffs at break-neck rhythm and blistering solos. It’s the record fans have been waiting desperately for and one of the year’s most crucial metal albums.

Commenting on the record’s impending release, founding vocalist/guitarist Darren Travis says: “I am giddy with excitement for this album to be unleashed upon the world. With the help of the entire Nuclear Blast team, we will bestow a hugely anticipated release of ‘The Shadow Inside’!!

“THANK YOU for your interest in our little band for all these years. I hope you will find the same release of excitement that WE DO!! The love of METAL is the only reason for SADUS!! Thank you ALL for the undying SUPPORT!!!! Fucking SADUS!!”

SADUS unleashed the first single from “The Shadow Inside”, a song called “It’s The Sickness”, late last year. Today, the band has unveiled the record’s next track, “Ride The Knife”, which is available now for streaming and is accompanied by the lyric video below.

“The Shadow Inside” track listing:
01. First Blood
02. Scorched And Burnt
03. It’s The Sickness
04. Ride The Knife
05. Anarchy
06. The Devil In Me
07. Pain
08. No Peace
09. New Beginnings
10. The Shadow Inside

SADUS‘s founding drummer Jon Allen shares his excitement about working with Travis once again, reminiscing about their collaboration on “Elements Of Anger”. He points out that several tracks on the new album, such as “The Devil In Me” and “The Shadow Inside”, revolve around the idea of an internal entity constantly pushing us. At times, one might find themselves at the edge of reason, attributing their actions to the shadow within, an external force they blame for their choices. While not a concept album per se, every song deals with life decisions and the importance of taking responsibility for one’s actions to unlock the best life has to offer. The track “The Shadow Inside” boasts a heavier and slower tone, with a touch of classic, gut-wrenching grind, creating a fitting climax to the album.

Watch the lyric video for “It’s The Sickness” below.

Says SADUS’ Darren Travis, when asked to discuss the new track, “As Joe Perry from Aerosmith says… ‘Let the music do the talking!!!’” 

Commenting on the signing, Nuclear Blast’s A&R veteran Monte Conner states:

“I am thrilled to be reunited with Darren Travis and the mighty Sadus. Signing a band I have worked with in the past is never a given. Quite the opposite, in fact. I need to be blown away, and let me tell you, this new Sadus material is some of the best work I have ever heard from the band. It is the Sadus you know and love, with the same elements that made them unique in the past, but now with even stronger, more focused songs, and with crushingly heavy modern production!” 

SADUS rose to notoriety amidst the Bay Area’s burgeoning thrash scene in the mid-80’s. The band’s introductory album, Illusions (1988), led to their signing with Roadrunner Records by A&R guru Monte Connor and eventual release of the quintessential record Swallowed in Black (1990). Over the next decade and a half the band went on to release the hailed albums A Vision of Misery (1992), Elements of Anger (1997) and Out for Blood (2006) as well as toured with the likes of Morbid Angel, Sepultura and Obituary among others. 

Now nearly four decades since their formation and almost two decades since their last record, SADUS returns with one of their most vicious and vital albums to date. Follow the band for additional news and updates regarding their return.

Social media