Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP announces new album 'Universal'


Michael Schenker announces the release of his new album, scheduled for release on Atomic Fire Records on May 27 under the programmatic moniker of “Universal”

Schenker has once again enlisted a number of prestigious fellow musicians for the recording of his new studio production, among them, as main vocalist Ronnie Romero (RAINBOWVANDENBERG), who will also be MSG‘s frontman on their upcoming tour, Michael Kiske (HELLOWEEN) and Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR), keyboard player Steve Mann (LIONHEART), drummers Simon Phillips (TOTOTHE WHO), Brian Tichy (WHITESNAKEFOREIGNER), Bobby Rondinelli (RAINBOW) and Bodo Schopf (ELOY), as well as legendary bassists Bob Daisley (BLACK SABBATH), Barry Sparks (YNGWIE MALMSTEENDOKKEN) and Barend Courbois (BLIND GUARDIANZAKK WYLDE), with Tony Carey as a very special guest.

Like its predecessor “Immortal” (2021) and the MICHAEL SCHENKER FEST albums “Resurrection” (2018) and “Revelation” (2019), “Universal” was produced by Michael Schenker and Michael Voss (LESSMANN/VOSSMAD MAX) at Voss‘s Kidroom Studio, which has become something of a creative home away from home for Schenker.

Michael Voss is happy to wait until I have worked out an idea and takes the time to really get to know the song, simultaneously developing ideas for the vocals,” Schenker describes the fruitful collaboration which has one cog intermesh with the other. “Then we work out the drums, bass and some keyboard parts together. He always has plenty of great ideas up his sleeve.”

“Immortal” is available in the following formats:
* CD
* CD/Blu-ray Digipak (incl. „Michael Schenker Fest Live @ Bang Your Head festival)
* Earbook (incl. album CD + live Blu-ray & live 2CD)
*LP (black, black/white marbled, red/black marbled)

Order the album here: http://nblast.de/MSG-Immortal

The tracklist reads as follows:
01. Drilled To Kill
02. Don´t Die On Me Now
03. Knight Of The Dead
04. After The Rain
05. Devil’s Daughter
06. Sail The Darkness
07. The Queen Of Thorns And Roses
08. Come On Over
09. Sangria Morte
10. In Search Of The Peace Of Mind

The album was predominantly recorded at the Kidroom Studio in Germany, with Michael‘s long time partner Michael Voss who co-produced the album and also sings on two tracks. The cover artwork of  „Immortal“ was created by Zsofia Dankova (POWERWOLF etc.).

Says Michael Schenker:
„Immortal“ will feature ten tracks, including the magnum opus “In Search Of The Peace Of Mind”. „I wrote this song when I was 15 years old, it was my first ever written piece of music which I recorded with SCORPIONS on our first studio album „Lonesome Crow“ in 1970, getting released in 1972. We re-recorded this song for my 50th anniversary as a celebration and it turned out to be an epic; with an extra extension at the end of the song, which turned out absolutely fantastic with Simon Phillips on drums, doing his usual amazing stuff.“ The result is a true highlight and features even more surprises: „Gary Barden sings the first verse,  continued by Ronnie Romero – and in the end we have Ronnie, Doogie White and Robin McAuley screaming their heads off, as a tribute to my 50th anniversary. Absolute amazing. Thanks to the guys for doing this!“

The limited first edition of this upcoming MSG album will feature another unique extra: „It will include the MICHAEL SCHENKER FEST – Bang Your Head – Blu-ray, which was recorded during our headline show in Balingen/Germany two years ago: Unfixed, raw, pure and great! There’s a couple of small mistakes, but because the show and recording went so well, I decided to keep it the way it went on the night. It’s live, magic and pure.“

MSG TOUR 2022Michael Schenker * Ronnie Romero * Steve Mann * Barend Courbois * Bodo Schopf27.04.2022 FI – Helsinki, Vanha Yo-talo29.04.2022 SE – Stockholm, Fryshuset Klubben30.04.2022 NO – Oslo, Vulkan Arena01.05.2022 DK – Kopenhagen, Amager Bio03.05.2022 NL – Zoetermeer, De Boerderij04.05.2022 GER – Bochum, Zeche05.05.2022 CH – Pratteln, Z706.05.2022 GER – Speyer, Halle 10107.05.2022 FR – Cleon, La Traverse10.05.2022 ES – Madrid, La Riviera11.05.2022 ES – Barcelona, Razzmatazz 112.05.2022 ES – Pamplona, Totem14.05.2022 IT – Fontaneto d’Agogna (NO), Phenomenon15.05.2022 IT – Rom, Largo Venue

Photo credit: Tina Korhonen

Social media