Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

LACUNA COIL releases music video for new version of 'Swamped' from 'Comalies XX' album


LACUNA COIL have released the official Trilathera-directed music video for a new version of their song “Swamped”. The new version of the track will appear on “Comalies XX”, a “deconstructed” and “transported” version of LACUNA COIL‘s third album, “Comalies”, which will be made available on October 14 via Century Media Records.

Watch the new version of “Swamped” below.

Back in 2002, LACUNA COIL released an album which is now undeniably an anthem-laden millennial classic that established them as a band with the stamina to go the distance. Now, 20 years later, the current lineup of LACUNA COIL decided to revisit the songs, but not to just re-record them as they were but deconstruct and transport them into 2022.

“This is not a reboot or a spin-off or anything like that,” says LACUNA COIL vocalist Cristina Scabbia. “We just wanted to give these songs a 2022 dress and see how this guy or girl who was born 20 years ago would still look fucking slick in 2022.”

“Comalies XX” track listing:

CD 1:

  1. Swamped XX
    02. Heaven’s A Lie XX
    03. Daylight Dancer XX
    04. Humane XX
    05. Self Deception XX
    06. Aeon XX
    07. Tight Rope XX
    08. The Ghost Woman And The Hunter XX
    09. Unspoken XX
    10. Entwined XX
    11. The Prophet Said XX
    12. Angel’s Punishment XX
    13. Comalies XX

CD 2:

  1. Swamped
    02. Heaven’s A Lie
    03. Daylight Dancer
    04. Humane
    05. Self Deception
    06. Aeon
    07. Tight Rope
    08. The Ghost Woman And The Hunter
    09. Unspoken
    10. Entwined
    11. The Prophet Said
    12. Angel’s Punishment
    13. Comalies

As previously reported, LACUNA COIL will celebrate the 20th anniversary of “Comalies”, by performing it in its entirety at a one-night-only concert on Saturday, October 15 at Fabrique in Milano.

“Comalies” was originally released on October 29, 2002 through Century Media Records. The LP, which featured the band’s breakthrough single “Heaven’s A Lie”, has reportedly gone on to sell over 300,000 copies in the United States alone.

Regarding the “Comalies” title, Scabbia said: “[During the album’s recording], we had a sort of creative explosion. We were working in a coma, sort of like in a different dimension. First of all we just wanted to use the word ‘coma’ but there was something missing so we played with the two words coma and lies.”

The “Comalies” song “Swamped” is available as a downloadable track for the music video game series “Rock Band” and also appeared in the 2004 video game “Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines”.

Social media