Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

LACUNA COIL gets SOCK PUPPET parody treatment

Compilation album 'Comalies XX' out now


Sock Puppet Parody, which takes iconic bands and glorifies their undergarments by making high-quality music videos featuring socks, has paid tribute to LACUNA COIL by recreating the entire group as sock puppets and reworked the lyrics of the 2002 LACUNA COIL track “Heaven’s A Lie” to fit a theme of despondent undergarments lamenting the loss of socks after a dry cycle. The video is decked out with cathedral walls supporting a stained-glass depiction of an unmerciful dryer overlord looking onto the crusade of priest gown clad puppets. It’s clear these socks do not agree with modern laundering technology.

Watch the Sock Puppet parody below.

Sock Puppet Parody has created many tributes to bands such as METALLICASLIPKNOT, and more.

Back in 2019, director Brady Tulk told VoyageDallas about Sock Puppet Parody: “It’s a YouTube series that takes iconic bands and turns them into sock puppets. Our team does not cut corners. We not only create the music from the ground up, but we strive to stay true to the last detail. We research the band thoroughly to pay a tribute to the artists and we film it with the best production value we can. We take the concept of the song and apply sock related lyrics.

“We have caught the attention of the bands theirselves, from SLAYER posting our video, to PANTERA‘s Vinnie Paul making a cameo, to getting a seal of approval from SLIPKNOT‘s Corey Taylor.”

Regarding how Sock Puppet Parody was conceived, Tulk said: “I met a producer named Johnny Zero on the RIVETHEAD set. We eventually went to a concert together and saw the iconic band STATIC-X and the frontman, Wayne Static, had his hair in foot-long spikes and his long beard braided. Johnny and I knew STATIC-X would make for a fantastic sock puppet re-creation. We teamed up and decided to not just do one video, but do six episodes to see if they catch on. We knew there was something special about the concept, and we wanted to see how people would react.

“The pivotal moment for Sock Puppet Parody was when we uploaded a SLAYER parody to our YouTube channel. That day we were posted by numerous metal magazines with thousands of fans leading up to the band posting our video to their Facebook. In one day, over one hundred thousand people saw our video. It was an unbelievable experience. Since then, Johnny and I have been cultivating our audience and growing the brand.”

Back in 2002, LACUNA COIL released an album, ‘Comalies’, which is now undeniably an anthem-laden millennial classic that established them as a band with the stamina to go the distance. Now, 20 years later, the current lineup of LACUNA COIL decided to revisit the songs, but not to just re-record them as they were but deconstruct and transport them into 2022.

“This is not a reboot or a spin-off or anything like that,” says LACUNA COIL vocalist Cristina Scabbia. “We just wanted to give these songs a 2022 dress and see how this guy or girl who was born 20 years ago would still look fucking slick in 2022.”

“Comalies XX” track listing:

CD 1:

  1. Swamped XX
    02. Heaven’s A Lie XX
    03. Daylight Dancer XX
    04. Humane XX
    05. Self Deception XX
    06. Aeon XX
    07. Tight Rope XX
    08. The Ghost Woman And The Hunter XX
    09. Unspoken XX
    10. Entwined XX
    11. The Prophet Said XX
    12. Angel’s Punishment XX
    13. Comalies XX

CD 2:

  1. Swamped
    02. Heaven’s A Lie
    03. Daylight Dancer
    04. Humane
    05. Self Deception
    06. Aeon
    07. Tight Rope
    08. The Ghost Woman And The Hunter
    09. Unspoken
    10. Entwined
    11. The Prophet Said
    12. Angel’s Punishment
    13. Comalies

As previously reported, LACUNA COIL will celebrate the 20th anniversary of “Comalies”, by performing it in its entirety at a one-night-only concert on Saturday, October 15 at Fabrique in Milano.

“Comalies” was originally released on October 29, 2002 through Century Media Records. The LP, which featured the band’s breakthrough single “Heaven’s A Lie”, has reportedly gone on to sell over 300,000 copies in the United States alone.

Regarding the “Comalies” title, Scabbia said: “[During the album’s recording], we had a sort of creative explosion. We were working in a coma, sort of like in a different dimension. First of all we just wanted to use the word ‘coma’ but there was something missing so we played with the two words coma and lies.”

The “Comalies” song “Swamped” is available as a downloadable track for the music video game series “Rock Band” and also appeared in the 2004 video game “Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines”.

Social media