Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

IMMORTAL releases title track for 'War Against All' album

Photo credit: Leander Djønne


Norwegian black metal band IMMORTAL will release a new album, “War Against All”, on May 26 via Nuclear Blast Records. The group’s tenth studio LP will feature eight new songs in classic IMMORTAL style. The album’s title track is now released, coming with a lyric video.

Watch “War Against All” below.

The band’s founder Harald “Demonaz” Nævdal states about the song: “‘War Against All’ was the first track I wrote for this album. It’s a fast one where the riffs are mostly inspired by my riffs from ‘Battles In The North’. The lyrics are in the true Blashyrkh battle feel and mood for an opening track too. The frosty, raw, and fast battle songs in this style mean everything to me. I will never forget the early years, or disappoint the fans with slowing down the pace.”

“War Against All” was composed and performed by Demonaz, and it features some session members, like on IMMORTAL‘s earlier recordings. The album was produced by Arve Isdal, and recorded at Conclave & Earshot Studio in Bergen, Norway by Herbrand Larsen and Arve Isdal.

Demonaz states: “IMMORTAL continues the style that was established and defined on our very first records. It’s fast, furious, epic, and mighty Blashyrkh metal — the one and only way!”

He also offers some more background on the process of making “War Against All”: “Even though the studio work is necessary to get an ultimate recording, the writing process is obviously my favorite. I still write all the guitar riffs/music at home with the same old vibe, and the lyrics as well. The early days of black metal inspire me the most. Cold nights in the woods, on the mountains under the winter moon. That’s what keeps the spirit alive, and the foundation to all our music.”

According to Demonaz“War Against All” was recorded at the same studio where he recorded the guitars and vocals for “Northern Chaos Gods”. “They also did a great job with the new album, and it was a pleasure to go back and work there again,” he says. “I am especially pleased with the outcome on this one. It’s got that cold biting guitar sound, yet powerful production.

IMMORTAL have never compromised on the original vision, which is taking fans on a journey through Blashyrkh with our most grim and dark music, with every new release. These songs are no exception to this. I am proud of the final result, it’s got a distinct expression, and I can’t wait to let the fans hear it.”

The album’s cover artwork was done by the Swedish artist Mattias Frisk.

Track listing:
01. War Against All
02. Thunders Of Darkness
03. Wargod
04. No Sun
05. Return To Cold
06. Norlandihr
07. Immortal
08. Blashyrkh My Throne

“War Against All” was mastered by Iver Sandøy at Solslottet.

Social media