Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

Ex-QUIET RIOT Singer JAMES DURBIN Releases 'The Prince Of Metal' Music Video


Santa Cruz, California modern heavy metal revivalist and former Idols contestant James Durbin will release the debut album from his solo band, DURBIN“The Beast Awakens”, on February 12, 2021 via Frontiers Music Srl.

The official music video for the disc’s second single, “The Prince Of Metal”, can be seen below.

“The Beast Awakens” track listing:

01. The Prince Of Metal
02. Kings Before You (feat. Chris Jericho and Phil Demmel)
03. Into The Flames
04. Sacred Mountain
05. The Beast Awakens
06. Evil Eyes
07. Necromancer
08. Riders On The Wind
09. Calling Out For Midnight
10. Battle Cry
11. By The Horns
12. Rise To Valhalla

Durbin is finally releasing the album he has always wanted to over the course of his decade long recording career. Combining his love of all things DIOIRON MAIDEN and JUDAS PRIESTDurbin set out to craft his own signature strain of fantasy inspired power metal for his debut DURBIN album, “The Beast Awakens”.

“I’ve found a home for my creativity with Frontiers. They really share my vision for the type of metal I wish to create and we’re all excited to see where it will lead,” says Durbin.

“Kings Before You”, the first single released from Durbin‘s forthcoming album, features Chris Jericho (FOZZY) and Phil Demmel (ex-MACHINE HEADVIO-LENCE). For each of the solo sections on the remainder of the album tracks, Durbin called upon his own axe-wielding brethren to help out. Jon Yadon Jr.Marc PutnamDylan Rose and Nick Gallant all contributed guitar solos for the album. Due to the situation with COVID-19, the album was recorded largely remotely, with only Durbin himself, alongside his producer Ellison, occupying the recording studio.

Durbin says: “The fact that the album sounds the way it does, with the way it was recorded, is a testament to the passion of everyone involved. I am very grateful for all the love and care that was given to my songs and I can’t wait to unleash my metal upon the world.”

All the songs included on “The Beast Awakens” were written solely by Durbin himself.

“2020 has been such a strange year for all of us,” he says. “Coincidentally, our shelter in place order happened just as I had begun writing for the album. It really forced me to write by myself and not rely on others to write the riffs for me. And then to write the lyrics and melodies too.”

Once the songs were written and demoed by Durbin, he brought in the rhythm section of virtuoso drummer Mike Vanderhule (Y&T) and master bassist Barry Sparks (TED NUGENTSCORPIONSDOKKENB’Z). With Durbin handling the album’s rhythm guitars, his core lineup was complete.

Durbin recorded two studio albums with QUIET RIOT — 2017’s “Road Rage” and 2019’s “Hollywood Cowboys” — during his three-year stint with the group.

In September 2019, QUIET RIOT parted ways with Durbin and replaced him with Jizzy Pearl.


Check de onderstaande socials voor meer informatie over deze band.