Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

The Eternal (AUS) – Vetrar Draugurinn

The Eternal have been a long stay in the international metal scene, releasing five full length albums and 2 live album in their 15 year career. The band have toured nationally and abroad with such acts as Amorphis, Anathema, Opeth, Tarja, Katatonia, Swallow The Sun, HIM, Paradise Lost & many more.
The Eternal started their career on Finnish label Firebox Records born out of the ashes of cult doom band Cryptal Darkness. The Eternal released 3 critically acclaimed albums on Firebox Records; The Sombre light of Isolation (2004), Sleep of Reason (2005) & Kartika (2009), which were quickly followed by tours throughout Australia, Europe, Asia, America, Canada & South America.
The bands forth album Under A New Sun (2010) was produced by legendary musician Jeff Martin of The Tea Party (Canada) and saw the band experiment with the progressive rock elements of their sound. The release of Under A New Sun was also followed by extensive touring throughout Australian & New Zealand.
Looking to return to their roots the band followed up this album with the dark, melancholic & emotive When The Circle Light Begins to Fade, which was the first album to be fully engineered and produced by frontman Mark Kelson. This was also the first album to feature Martin Powell (My Dying Bride / Cradle of Filth / Anathema), whom Mark had previously worked with in Cryptal Darkness. When The Circle Light Begins to Fade was followed up by extensive national touring and the release of the career spanning live album / DVD Circle of Live which was recorded in the bands home town of Melbourne, Australia to an enthusiastic home crowd.
The current incarnation of the band featuring Mark Kelson (Alternative 4, Insomnius Dei, Cryptal Darkness), Martin Powell (My Dying Bride, Cradle of Filth, Anathema), Ando McDougall (Dreadnaught) & Dave Langlands alongside the addition of renowned Australian guitarist Richie Poate (Dreadnaught) have spent over 3 years writing and recording what can be best described as the bands darkest & heaviest album to date.
With Kelson & Poate taking care of production duties, the 7 track, 75 minute opus Waiting For The Endless Dawn see’s the band treading in more melancholic waters than ever before. The bands 6th full length album opens with The Wound, a 20 minute cinematic statement that takes the listener from moments of progressive, emotive rock, all the way to slow drudging doom metal. A film for The Wound has been produced in Portugal by renowned film maker Guilherme Henriques.
WaitingForTheEndlessDawnalsosee’sthebandexperimentingwiththeirmoreextremesideontracks such as In The Lilac Dusk which features the enigmatic voice of Finnish doom legends Swallow The Sun Mikko Kotamäki.
Waiting For The Endless Dawn proves to be a heavy hearted, dark statement in the bands diverse and long career, which will see the band endeavouring to tour extensively and performing the album in it’s entirety. Waiting For The Endless Dawn was released on Finnish Label Inverse Records 17.08.18.

VETRAR DRAUGURINN – A chill in the air of the Dutch metal scene… (Biography 2019)

“And when all the world is lost in shadow / Yours is the only fire I will know. / Bleak is the earth I walk on. / Still the pale light is not gone”
Vetrar Draugurinn is a Dutch band formed around song writer / guitar player Eric Hazebroek (Stream of Passion); show casing his unique style of incorporating melancholic melodies with heavy, downtuned riffs and his eye for subtle detail and diversity. After Stream of Passion’s demise in 2016 Eric needed a new challenge to continue. Despite the Icelandic name, the band came to life in the Netherlands. To complete the line-up Eric asked the help of 4 talented, experienced musicians/friends, namely the angelic yet dark voice of Marjan Welman (Autumn, Ayreon), versatile drummer Jim van de Kerkhof (All for Nothing), fellow 8 stringed guitar player Thomas Cochrane (Hologram Earth, Ancient Rites), and long-time collaborator Arjan Heijden (Manifest, Daeonia) on bass. Their goal is to make music from the heart, melancholic and gloomy, intense and fragile at some places, massive and loud in others.

Eric explains: “Throughout my 26 years as an aspiring and semi-professional musician, I grew into the role of songwriter more and more. During my time in Daeonia (Candlelight Records 1997-2001) I became the sole contributor for the first time and learned a lot about subtle details in melody and atmosphere. The Saturnine (2003 – 2013) was the band in which this came to existence the most. With a strong work ethic we were playing in the name of the song, disguished our technical abilities underneath a blanket of beautiful melodies. I’m not here to show off my guitar-playing (others are way better than I am). I’m here to make beautiful music.”
For 10 years Eric was part of the Dutch/Mexican progressive symphonic metal band Stream of Passion, with whom he toured several times all over Europe and even played shows in far away places like Russia, Canada, Israel, Mexico, and the United States. During those years he released 3 full-length albums with the band and a live DVD. Stream of Passion also launched an incredibly succesful crowdfunding campaign for the recording of their final studio album in 2013, which grossed near to 200% of their goal.
2017 Saw the start of this brand new band and a brand new adventure, venturing into the next chapter of a musical journey. First a limited edition EP was as an introduction, with a tremendous response to follow. After which a full-length album was recorded during 2018, which will see the light of day in 2019. “Hinterlands” contains 11 songs that will drag you into their travels and darkness. Vetrar Draugurinn is here to give you a glimpse of light in the dark forest, a little bit of warmth in the long wintery night.

Entree: €10,- (ook in de voorverkoop in Musicon zelf)


Aug 24 2019



More Info

Read More


Den Haag
QR Code