Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

DEAD CROSS (Feat. MIKE PATTON, DAVE LOMBARDO) release video for 'Heart Reformer'


DEAD CROSS, the Southern California hardcore outfit featuring Dave Lombardo (SLAYER, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES, MISFITS), Mike Patton (FAITH NO MORE, TOMAHAWK), Justin Pearson (THE LOCUST, RETOX) and Michael Crain (RETOX, FESTIVAL OF DEAD DEER), will release a new album, “II”, on October 28 via Ipecac Recordings. The official music video for the LP’s second single, “Heart Reformer”, is now released.

Watch “Heart Reformer” below.

‘Heart Reformer’ was as much fun to write as it is to listen to,” says Crain. “It’s a classic DEAD CROSS song. It’s a pit stirrer and a fist pumper!” The short-film-like clip, which takes the track’s title literally, was directed and edited by Dark Details (a.k.a. Chris J. Cunningham)

DEAD CROSS broke the news of “II”‘s impending arrival with the release of “Reign Of Error”, a track Stereogum described as a “freaked-out, blisteringly fast” single, and Consequence said “is a blaster, with Lombardo‘s double-kick drum anchoring the controlled chaos.” The one-minute and forty-five second wake-up call of a song is matched with a Displaced/Replaced-crafted clip that offers a scathing critique of the U.S. Supreme Court. Loudwire described the clip as “insane” and Brooklyn Vegan dubbed it “apocalyptic.”

“II”, while both a raucous hardcore collection, and at times, a politically charged opus, has its roots in friendship, with the band rallying together after Crain received a surprise cancer diagnosis.

“Words can’t even begin to describe how much this album means to me. It’s birthed of pain and uncertainty,” adds Crain. “The slow, excruciatingly painful, and nauseating recovery from cancer treatments were the catalyst for every riff and note on this album. However, my will to live and be with my brothers JustinDaveMike, and co-producer Ross Robinson, got me out of bed and running into the studio every day to get it all on tape.”

“II” track listing:

  1. Love Without Love
    02. Animal Espionage
    03. Heart Reformer
    04. Strong And Wrong
    05. Ants And Dragons
    06. Nightclub Canary
    07. Christian Missile Crisis
    08. Reign Of Error
    09. Imposter Syndrome

The “II” album cover was created by Eric Livingston and can be seen below.