Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

DISTURBED's DAVID DRAIMAN deletes his TINDER account, calls dating app “an absolute shitishow”


DISTURBED frontman David Draiman says he deleted his account on Tinder, calling it “an absolute shitishow”.

Last week, Draiman confirmed that he was using the dating app to find “the right woman” following his recent divorce. But earlier today (Monday, May 8), Draiman offered an update on his search for romance, writing on Twitter: “Holly fucking dumpster fire Batman, @Tinder was an absolute shitishow. Scammers, grifters, fakes and phonies abound. What a colossal fucking nightmare. Deleted it. Dear lord.”

On Friday (May 5), one of Draiman‘s Twitter followers shared a screenshot of what appeared to be the singer’s Tinder profile, and he wrote: “Lol dude you see this?! I’m tagging you bc I believe it’s fake @davidmdraiman”. David quickly responded: “Not fake lol. It’s me”. This prompted the fan to write, “My bad bro for assuming”, to which Draiman replied: “All good. You’d be surprised. It’s hard for a guy like me to meet the right woman. I’ll tell you, it’s been weird so far. Lots of scammers. Trying to figure out how to navigate this new terrain.”

Another fan also chimed in on Draiman‘s presence on Tinder, writing: “Read: David Draiman can’t get laid anymore.” Draiman fired back with: “I can get laid anytime I want if I’m willing to drop my standards, but my standards are quite high, and I won’t dishonor myself that way. Looking for the RIGHT woman, not just ANY woman. Oh. And btw? You’re a dick”.

Last month, Draiman confirmed that he recently finalized his divorce from his wife of 11 years, Lena Draiman.

The 50-year-old singer opened up about his split in an interview with Kyle Meredith. Speaking about why DISTURBED continues to make music and stay creative after being together for nearly 30 years, David said (as transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET): “Therapy. (Laughs) It’s as pure and simple as that. Right now for me it’s the most effective form of therapy.

“I’m very much looking forward to the performance end of things, which is coming up shortly, but the creative end is the perfect way to come to terms with your demons, and I’m definitely stocked up,” he explained. “I need this, and I need the music — creating it, performing it, living it — right now more than I ever have.

“I just recently finalized my divorce. I just recently said goodbye to my Akita (dog), my best friend of 14 years. There’s gonna be plenty of inspiration for the next body of work. Battling depression, battling all the demons that normally come along with it. And I know that music — our music, other music like it and different types of music in general — is just the perfect means of therapy for so many other people. And it really is my saving grace. I don’t know what I would do without it.”

Draiman touched upon his divorce again later in the interview when the conversation turned to the DISTURBED song “Don’t Tell Me”, which appears on the band’s latest album “Divisive”. A duet with HEART‘s Ann Wilson, the track was inspired by DISTURBED guitarist Dan Donegan‘s own recent divorce. “Mine hadn’t been finalized yet (when the song was written),” David revealed. “And to be honest, when I wrote the song, I didn’t realize how prophetic it was going to be. I kind of hate that shit. (Laughs) It ended up becoming not just about Dan‘s divorce, unfortunately. It wasn’t exactly the same situation, but I definitely have added reverence for the song, and it has added meaning and power to me, especially now.”

When David first announced his divorce on his Facebook page in February, he described himself as “heartbroken” and “very lost” and revealed that there was “no infidelity” involved in the split. He went on to say that there was “no bad blood” between him and his now-ex-wife and added that they would “continue to be the best parents” we can be to their son Samuel, who was born in September 2013. “Lena is still the best mother I could ever hope for, so we’ve got that going for us,” he wrote at the time. He added: “I will continue to try to be the best father, and frontman that I can be, and I hope that Sam can forgive me one day for my part in this failure.”

DISTURBED has shared the official music video for the song “Unstoppable” last month. The track is taken from the band’s eighth full-length album, “Divisive”, which arrived last November via Reprise.

Watch “Unstoppable” below.

About “Divisive”DISTURBED singer David Draiman noted: “Partisan tribal warfare has become a part of our regular existence nowadays. It’s one big battle of the cliques. The whole idea of the record is to be a wakeup call for everyone. Our society has become addicted to outrage. Music is the best cure for what ails us though. If only everyone reached out and used it. There’s no better environment to forget about all of this shit than live music. We can be together and realize we have more in common than not. Recognize what’s happening and let’s make a change for the better.”

Guitarist Dan Donegan added: “Whatever it takes, we’ve got to pull it together. We’ve always tried to take negative topics and spin them in a positive light. From touring around the world, we’ve seen the power of music as the universal language to bring everyone together from all walks of life. We can still play songs to unite people, and it’s a pretty powerful feeling.”

“Unstoppable” storms out of the gate on a jackhammer guitar riff, pummeling drums, and the band’s signature staccato vocal phrasing in lockstep with a pulsating rhythm. This barrage crashes into a skyscraping stadium-ready refrain, “There’s no escape. I am unstoppable.”

Draiman elaborated: “‘Unstoppable’ is definitely one of the heavier tracks on the record. The groove builds into a bombastic animal. It’s truly the fight song.”

“We always have a big rock anthem on every album,” Donegan commented. “We love to write empowering songs for motivation. We’re avid sports fans, and that’s definitely part of it. It’s an in-your-face track, for sure.”

“Divisive” pulls no punches as a precise, pummeling, and powerful hard rock opus. In early 2022, the quartet cut these ten tracks with producer Drew Fulk (MOTIONLESS IN WHITELIL PEEPHIGHLY SUSPECT) in Nashville, Tennessee. After Donegan shared initial ideas with the rest of the group, they locked in like never before with the groove as the backbone. Drummer Mike Wengren bolted down some of the strongest and boldest rhythms of their career punctuated by John Moyer‘s punchy bass. Together, the musicians collectively conjured the focus and fire of their seminal early output augmented by airtight songcraft and a heightened level of musical chemistry that could only be forged by years of writing and touring together.

As a result, “Divisive” finds DISTURBED at their most dynamic, defiant, and dangerous. Breaking ground, it also notably marks the first time the band included a guest feature on an album, boasting the epic emotionally charged duet “Don’t Tell Me” with HEART‘s Ann Wilson. Meanwhile, the likes of “Bad Man” and “Divisive” rank amongst the band’s heaviest material. At the same time, they infuse the likes of “Won’t Back Down” with uplifting melodies.

Watch the previously released “Don’t Tell Me”, featuring Ann Wilson (Heart) below.

1. Hey You
2. Bad Man
3. Divisive
4. Unstoppable
5. Love To Hate
6. Feeding The Fire
7. Don’t Tell Me (feat. Ann Wilson)
8. Take Back Your Life
9. Part Of Me
10. Won’t Back Down