Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

DARKTHRONE shares new song 'Caravan Of Broken Ghosts' from upcoming album 'Astral Fortress'


Norwegian black metal pioneers DARKTHRONE will release their new album, “Astral Fortress”, on October 28 via Peaceville Records. The official lyric video for the song “Caravan Of Broken Ghosts”, filmed by DARKTHRONE‘s Gylve “Fenriz” Nagell and created by Matthew Vickerstaff, is now released. “Caravan Of Broken Ghosts” will be available on all major streaming platforms from today, Thursday, October 20.

Watch the lyric video for “Caravan Of Broken Ghosts” below.

The ever-productive duo of Nocturno and Fenriz continue their own saga with a new selection of songs. “Astral Fortress”DARKTHRONE‘s 20th album, is a swift follow-up to 2021’s “Eternal Hails” opus, which comes from DARKTHRONE‘s consistent and ongoing writing process.

Watch Fenriz tell more about the concept of the video in the message below.

Fenriz states about the track: “There is a revisit vibe of ‘Quintessence’ at first, which is a total coincidence as it is Ted‘s (Ted ‘Nocturno Culto’ Skjellum) song and I wrote ‘Q’. The song then explodes into fiercer metal, pounding and catching there as well, with clever riff shifts. And then the classic doom ending. Thank you, Ted.”

Watch the previously released album trailer below.

Carried on the brisk wind of eager rock, with foundations in black, thrash, doom and heavy metal, “Astral Fortress” is the latest album of stellar, eclectic old metal in the DARKTHRONE odyssey. With a seemingly endless dungeon full of heavy metal influences channeled through DARKTHRONE‘s dynamic riff-machine, plus also with many increasing inspirations taken from their own past catalogue. Even though sprinkled with atmospheric touches such as synthesizers and mellotron on “Astral Fortress” to great effect, the DARKTHRONE sound remains stripped down to the core; always primitive and organic.

“Astral Fortress” was recorded at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, Norway, the same location used for the “Eternal Hails” album, with Ole Øvstedal and Silje Høgevold. The LP was mastered by Jack Control.

Pre orders for “Astral Fortress” are now available AT HIS LOCATION.

This new studio opus, due for release on Peaceville on 28th October 2022, is a swift follow-up to 2021’s Eternal Hails opus, as a result of Darkthrone’s consistent and ongoing writing process, which has been in force for some years now. For Darkthrone does not sleep – it only waits.

‘Astral Fortress’ was recorded at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, the same location used for the Eternal Hails album, with Ole Øvstedal and Silje Høgevold.

Astral Fortress tracklisting

  1. Caravan Of Broken Ghosts [07:53]
  2. Impeccable Caverns Of Satan [05:34]
  3. Stalagmite Necklace [05:22]
  4. The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea [10:10]
  5. Kevorkian Times [04:27]
  6. Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests [01:54]
  7. Eon 2 [04:40]
  • Limited Edition Deluxe boxed edition: includes Astral Fortress on CD, an exclusive clear vinyl LP & cassette, a printed letter from Fenriz and exclusive art prints all housed in a heavy duty lift off lid box
  • Limited edition curacao blue coloured LP – exclusively available through the Peaceville stores
  • CD
  • LP
  • Digital
  • Plus other limited edition coloured vinyl LPs are available in stores across the world – gold, white, yellow, green, purple and silver .. a collectors dream .. if you can find them!

Social media