Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE release new track 'Deny the Sun'

details of forthcoming album ‘Tempus Veritas’

picture credit: Omar Ahmed


British rock band Black Orchid Empire announce their brand new album “Tempus Veritas”. The new offering will be released on April 14, 2023 via Season of Mist. The band is now sharing the very first single ‘Deny The Sun’, which is streaming via the official Season of Mist YouTube channel.

Watch ‘Deny The Sun’ below.

Pre-orders are now available AT THIS LOCATION. The album can be pre-saved on various digital platforms AT THIS LOCATION.Speaking about the lead single Paul Visser says: “Deny The Sun is the first song we wrote for Tempus Veritas and we love how hard the riff goes!  We’ve been pushing more and more into the technical side of our music for this album and this track is a great example of that. Lyrically it deals with Galileo’s ideas about the central nature of the sun and the clash with religious views at the time, written from the point of view of his friend Pope Urban VIII who found himself in an impossible position and ended up condemning the astronomer. Our friend and long-time collaborator Alina Gordienco made the amazing video in LA, starring the wonderful Irina Dudyk as the sun goddess.  Her work is consistently inspired and we love what she did for this song!

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE comment on the album: “Interwoven with the fabric of our history as a species are countless opportunities for stories. Little pieces of imagined narrative, set within events we all collectively know as historical, that seek to explore what it means to be human – this is the idea behind Tempus Veritas. Whereas Semaphore looked to the future, this record reinvents the past, wondering what it was like to be inside the mind of a person living through times of consequence. Musically, we continue to seek the boundary between the savagely technical and the undeniably beautiful and attempt to push it as far as possible. We poured our entire creative beings into making this album – we sincerely hope you enjoy it.

BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE are furthermore releasing the cover artwork and further album details for “Tempus Veritas”. 


1. Tempus Veritas (1:24)2. Hydrogen (3:57)3. The Raven (3:41)4. Last Ronin (4:27)5. Scarlet Haze (3:42)6. Deny The Sun (3:15) [WATCH]7. Glory To The King (3:37)8. Summit (3:07)9. Weakness (2:49)10. Vesuvius (3:44)11. Latimer (3:43)Total: 37:26

Recording studio:The Recording Studio London Producer / sound engineer:Produced by Black Orchid EmpirePaul Visser (engineer)Dobromir Vasilev (assistant engineer) Mixing studio and engineer:The Recording Studio LondonPaul Visser (mix engineer) Mastering studio and engineer:Systematic ProductionsErmin Hamidovic (mastering engineer) Line-up:Paul Visser: Vocals | GuitarDave Ferguson: Bass | VocalsBilly Freedom: DrumsCover artwork: Black Orchid Empire & Ines Hernandez