Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

VOLA announces new album 'Friend Of A Phantom'

Photo credit: Heli Andrea


VOLA has announced a new studio album, “Friend Of A Phantom”, which will be released on November 1 via Mascot Records. In celebration of the announcement, the quartet has revealed the official video for their new song “Break My Lying Tongue”. The band will also play festivals over the summer and their headline “Friend Of A Phantom” European tour begins also on November 1.

Watch “Break My Lying Tongue” below.

Watch the previously released “Paper Wolf” below.

It has been three years since the release of VOLA‘s defining album “Witness”. It was a sonic assault that captured their signature blend of thoughtful labyrinthine narratives with crushing riffs and experimental sophistication. Heavy/quiet and dark/light were combined with elements of tech-metal, progressive alt-rock, electronica, and stadium-sized choruses. Surpassing an incredible 27.5 million streams, the album was lauded with international acclaim from Metal HammerProg magazine, Distorted Sound and Kerrang! Radio and TV in the U.K., reaching No. 7 in the Rock And Metal Albums chart. SiriusXM picked them up for multiple tracks, also featuring on the SXM Liquid Metal Next Wave Concert Series. The album also reached the Top 20 in the Billboard Current Hard Rock chart, Top 25 in the Billboard New Artist/Heatseekers Album chart, and was named one of Loudwire‘s albums of the year.

VOLA has since wrapped up two tours of the U.S. with several venues upgraded due to overwhelming demand, as well as sold-out shows in New York, Chicago and the iconic Troubadour in Los Angeles, where the band struck up a friendship with IN FLAMES‘ Anders Fridén, who features on the new album. Their first tour of Canada resulted in sold-out shows in Toronto and Montreal, and they rounded off the continent with triumphant South American shows in Mexico, Brazil, and a sold-out show in Chile.

The strength of the Danish-Swedish quartet — Asger Mygind (vocals/guitar), Martin Werner (keys), Nicolai Mogensen (bass) and Adam Janzi (drums) — has always been combining a multitude of ideas within a single song, packing it in with a grandiose power that can be as ferocious as it can be delicate.

“Friend Of A Phantom” track listing:

01. Cannibal (feat. Anders Fridén of IN FLAMES)
02. Break My Lying Tongue
03. We Will Not Disband
04. Glass Mannequin
05. Bleed Out
06. Paper Wolf
07. I Don’t Know How We Got Here
08. Hollow Kid
09. Tray

Social media