Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

VAN HALEN release newly remastered 'Crossing Over' from 'The Collection II'

Van Halen, form LTR: Michael Anthony, Sammy Hagar, Eddie van Halen, Alex van Halen


VAN HALEN will release a new boxed set this fall spotlighting the iconic band’s second incarnation, with singer Sammy Hagar, guitarist Eddie Van Halen, drummer Alex Van Halen, and bassist Michael Anthony. The upcoming set includes newly remastered versions of four multi-platinum studio albums, along with a selection of rarities recorded between 1989 and 2004.

“The Collection II” will be available on October 6 on five LPs for $124.98 and five CDs for $49.98. All the music in the set was mastered directly from the original master tapes, a process overseen by the band’s longtime engineer, Donn Landee.

A newly remastered version of the song “Crossing Over”, taken from “The Collection II”, can be streamed below. “Crossing Over” was originally released as the B-side to “Balance”‘s “Can’t Stop Loving You”, as well as a bonus track on the Japanese CD version.

Stream the previously reeased remastered version of the song “It’s About Time”, taken from “The Collection II”, below.

Stream the previously remastered version of ‘Human Beings’ below.

The journey begins with “5150”VAN HALEN‘s seventh studio album and the band’s first to claim the top spot on the Billboard 200. Certified platinum six times in the U.S., the record treated fans to hits like “Dreams”“Love Walks In” and “Why Can’t This Be Love”, which peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard Hot 100. The group returned two years later with “OU812”, a quadruple-platinum smash that delivered four Billboard Hot 100 hits, including “Finish What Ya Started” and “When It’s Love”.

The accolades continued with “For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge”, which earned VAN HALEN its first Grammy Award for “Favorite Heavy Metal/Hard Rock Album”. Debuting at No. 1 and staying there for three weeks, the album achieved triple-platinum certification. The record produced an incredible seven singles, including hits like “Poundcake”“Top Of The World” and “Right Now”.

In 1993, the band released its first live album, “Live: Right Here, Right Now”, before returning in 1995 with “Balance”, its final studio album with Hagar. The album was another commercial triumph, debuting at No. 1, selling more than three million copies, and earning a Grammy nomination for “The Seventh Seal”.

“The Collection II” concludes with “Studio Rarities 1989-2004”, an exclusive compilation that assembles eight gems from the Hagar era for the first time. Among these rarities is “Crossing Over”, the B-side to “Balance”‘s “Can’t Stop Lovin’ You” and the band’s only non-album B-side.

The compilation boasts other exceptional highlights, including the band’s cover of LITTLE FEAT‘s “A Apolitical Blues” and the instrumental “Baluchitherium”, which were originally left off the vinyl versions of “OU812” and “Balance”, respectively. Additionally, the set features two songs the band contributed to the “Twister” soundtrack — “Humans Being” and the Grammy-nominated “Respect The Wind”.

Rounding out the set are “It’s About Time”“Up For Breakfast” and “Learning To See”, which were recorded during the band’s temporary reunion with Hagar in 2004. All three debuted that year on VAN HALEN‘s second greatest-hits collection, “The Best Of Both Worlds”.

“The Collection II” 5-LP track listing

LP One: 5150

Side One

  1. Good Enough
    02. Why Can’t This Be Love
    03. Get Up
    04. Dreams
    05. Summer Nights

Side Two

  1. Best Of Both Worlds
    02. Love Walks In
    03. 5150
    04. Inside

LP Two: OU812

Side One

  1. Mine All Mine
    02. When It’s Love
    03. A.F.U. (Naturally Wired)
    04. Cabo Wabo

Side Two

  1. Source Of Infection
    02. Feels So Good
    03. Finish What Ya Started
    04. Black And Blue
    05. Sucker In A 3 Piece

LP Three: For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge

Side One

  1. Poundcake
    02. Judgement Day
    03. Spanked
    04. Runaround
    05. Pleasure Dome

Side Two

  1. In ‘N’ Out
    02. Man On A Mission
    03. The Dream Is Over
    04. Right Now
    05. 316
    06. Top Of The World

LP Four: Balance

Side One

  1. The Seventh Seal
    02. Can’t Stop Lovin’ You
    03. Don’t Tell Me (What Love Can Do)
    04. Amsterdam
    05. Big Fat Money
    06. Doin’ Time

Side Two

  1. Aftershock
    02. Strung Out
    03. Not Enough
    04. Take Me Back (Déjà Vu)
    05. Feelin’

LP Five: Studio Rarities 1989-2004

Side One

  1. A Apolitical Blues
    02. Crossing Over
    03. Baluchitherium

Side Two

  1. Humans Being
    02. Respect The Wind
    03. It’s About Time
    04. Up For Breakfast

Social media