Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

THE ABBEY release third new single 'Starless'

New album "Word of Sin" will be released via Season of Mist on February 17


THE ABBEY, the emerging progressive doom metal band ft. Natalie Koskinen (SHAPE OF DESPAIR), Jesse Heikkinen (HENGET, ITERUM NATA, etc),  Vesa Ranta (SENTENCED, THE MAN-EATING TREE), and Janne Markus (THE MAN-EATING TREE), are now releasing their third new single ‘Starless’. The new offering is taken from the band’s upcoming album “Word of Sin”, which will be released via Season of Mist on February 17 (CD & Digital) and on July 07 (Vinyl). 

Watch ‘Starless’ below.

THE ABBEY comments on the track & video: “It’s the darkest song in the album, both musically and lyric-wise. Composed by guitarist Janne Markus, ‘Starless’ shows the heavier side of the band. The lyrics by singer Natalie Koskinen contemplate the inner emptiness and the loss of will to live.Pre-orders are available AT THIS LOCATION* and the album can be pre-saved AT THIS LOCATION. the vinyl version is not available for pre order yet. 
The artwork for ‘Word of Sin’ was created by Alexander Reisfar and can be found together with the track-list below.
Track-list: 1. Rat King (4:42)2. A Thousand Dead Witches (4:35) [WATCH]3. Crystallion (6:17)4. Starless (7:53) [WATCH]5. Desert Temple (4:32)6. Widow’s Will (4:23) [WATCH]7. Queen of Pain (5:22)8. Old Ones: Prequel (2:34)9. Old Ones (12:47)Total: 53:05
Aleister Crowley’s Abbey of Thelema was located in Sicily, Italy, and functioned as ground zero for many of the occultist’s most complex and groundbreaking hedonistic pursuits. Here, Crowley codified his ritual practices and took his concept of “Magick” to new, unforeseen levels. He rebranded the temple as “Collegium ad Spiritum Sanctum,” translating to “A college towards the Holy Spirit.” But the Abbey of Thelema was not without its controversy: A young disciple died in 1922 after contracting typhoid fever from the drinking water. And a year later, Crowley was evicted by Italian dictator Benito Mussolini’s regime, yet the mystery and intrigue behind the Abbey of Thelema remain.It was only appropriate, then, that Jesse Heikkinen, a veteran of the Finnish music scene and a solo artist under the Iterum Nata banner, branded his newest musical pursuit as THE ABBEY. Drawing lyrical inspiration from esoteric organizations, their beliefs and his own practices, Heikkinen and co-lead vocalist Natalie Koskinen (Shape of Despair) weaved ritualistic tales from the darkest corners of themselves to pair with music that is a provocative, alluring kaleidoscope of dark, heavy rock. The result is the mystical Word of Sin, THE ABBEY’s nine-song debut long-player.
Lineup:Henri Arvola – BassJesse Heikkinen – Guitar, keyboard, percussions, vocalsNatalie Koskinen – VocalsJanne Markus – GuitarVesa Ranta – DrumsGuest Musicians:Jarmo Heikkinen – Lute (track 8)Joonas Karjalainen – Additional keys (tracks 1, 4, 5, 7, 9)Mikko Kiiveri – Additional percussions (track 4)Ossi Oikari – SFX (track 9)Kyösti Rautio – Additional guitars (tracks 1, 3, 9) and additional keys (tracks 1, 4, 6, 9)Recording Studio: Kratio Studios / Studio Beyond North StarRecorded by: Jesse Heikkinen & Kyösti RautioProducer: The Abbey & Kyösti RautioMixing Studio + Engineer: Kratio Studios by Kyösti Rautio (except track 8 – mixed by Jesse Heikkinen)Mastering: Orgone Studios by Jaime Gomez Arellano

Social media