Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

SEX PISTOLS: 'The Original Recordings' to arrive in May

Photo credit: Barry Plummer / Outside Organisation


For the first time in over 20 years, 20 of SEX PISTOLS‘ recordings from 1976 to 1978 are collected together to tell the story of one of the world’s most influential and extraordinary bands.

“Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings” covers a historic period when the band were rarely out of the news or the charts.

SEX PISTOLS left the British establishment shaking when they exploded onto the music scene, kickstarting what later became known as punk — a term the band was never comfortable with. Young people ripped up not just their musical forebears but their social ones too and SEX PISTOLS were the snarling, ferocious figurehead of the revolution.

They made one perfect, 40-minute album for the ages in 1977’s “Never Mind The Bollocks” and from its artwork to the individual players, the attitude and music — every bit of it influenced the world we live in today.

The record is frequently listed as one of the most influential albums of all time with musicians from JOY DIVISION and NEW ORDER to Kurt CobainNoel GallagherGREEN DAY to Yungblud all citing them as key inspiration. And this was not just musically — punk showed that anyone could create and many took the hint across fashion, art and design and more.

SEX PISTOLS‘ 1977 single “God Save the Queen” was banned by the BBC and reached No. 1 on the U.K.’s NME chart, but appeared at No. 2 on the official U.K. singles chart, leading to accusations that the song was purposely kept off the top spot. For the only time in chart history, the track was listed as a blank, to avoid offence to the establishment.

The collection soundtracks the period and features key singles “Anarchy In The UK”“God Save The Queen”“Pretty Vacant” and “Holidays In The Sun”, essential tracks from “Never Mind The Bollocks”, further originals and covers from “The Great Rock & Roll Swindle” soundtrack album and some essential B-sides in “I Wanna Be Me” (the flipside of “Anarchy…”), “Satellite” (the B-side of “Holidays In The Sun”) and “Did You No Wrong” (from “God Save The Queen”).

Track listing:

01. Pretty Vacant
02. God Save The Queen
03. Bodies
04. No Feelings
05. I Wanna Be Me
06. Anarchy In The UK
07. Submission
08. No Fun
09. (I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone
10. Holidays In The Sun
11. New York
12. Problems
13. Lonely Boy
14. Silly Thing
15. Something Else
16. C’Mon Everybody
17. Satellite
18. Did You No Wrong
19. Substitute
20. My Way


* CD
* 2LP (Black vinyl)
* 2LP (Transparent Green)
* 2LP (Transparent Yellow)
* Cassette – 5 with individual artwork
* Digital

Social media