Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

OZZY OSBOURNE overwhelmed by his four GRAMMY AWARD nominations for 'Patient Number 9'


Ozzy Osbourne says that he is “overwhelmed” by the fact that he was nominated in four categories at the 65th annual Grammy Awards.

Ozzy‘s song “Patient Number 9” (featuring Jeff Beck) has been shortlisted for “Best Rock Performance” and “Best Rock Song”, while his latest album, “Patient Number 9”, is in the running for “Best Rock Album”. Another track from “Patient Number 9”“Degradation Rules” (featuring Tony Iommi) is up for the “Best Metal Performance” Grammy.

The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee, who has been held back from touring by a litany of health issues in recent years, previously has won three Grammy Awards and received eight nominations. In 1993 Ozzy won a solo Grammy Award for “Best Metal Performance” for “I Don’t Want To Change The World” and two Grammys as a member of BLACK SABBATH for “Best Metal Performance” in 2000 for “Iron Man” and in 2013 for “Best Metal Performance” for “God Is Dead?” from “13”.

A question-and-answer session with Ozzy about his latest nominations follows.

Q: How does it feel to have received four nominations for the new album?

Ozzy: “I’m honestly overwhelmed. Making this record was a great way to me to get back to work as I continued to heal. It’s pretty great to be acknowledged at this point in my career.”

Q: Between the pandemic and you going through your surgeries, do you think that contributed to making another record so quickly?

Ozzy: “Well, the thing was I had all this time — we all did through the pandemic. Instead of lying there and just doing my physical therapy, the record actually got me doing something that I love.”

Q: What was your mindset when you were writing and recording the album?

Ozzy: “I was thinking about the times we’ve been living in. There wasn’t much good news. It was a fucking war in Ukraine and the pandemic. The world seemed to be on the brink of a bad thing.”

Q: How do you feel at this point in your career having the kind of notoriety you’ve achieved with this album?

Ozzy: “The business forever surprises me. It’s never a safe bet. I’ve done things in the past where I tell myself ‘this is going to be a hit.’ Then it’s gone down the shitter and other things I’ve done… It’s done the opposite. I’m very cheered up by the support.”

Q: The interesting thing about the album is it features top musicians, including some old friends.

Ozzy: “Oh yeah. I mean the guitars are Tony (Iommi), Zakk (Wylde), Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck‘s fucking phenomenal work, plus Robert Trujillo on bass. It’s turned out better than I ever expected. And having Taylor Hawkins with me in the studio like a week or two before he died was amazing. To think he’s gone breaks my heart.”

Q: It must be special that “Degradation Rules” which features Tony Iommi, was nominated for a Grammy.

Ozzy: “Such great news. I mean, that song would’ve made a great BLACK SABBATH track. It’s a very well-structured song. I’ve known Tony since I was 12 years old and I’m glad to say we’ve continued a really good friendship. Tony‘s been very supportive of me while I’ve been recovering from surgery. He’s been in constant contact, which has been great.”

Q: What’s the collaboration like with producer Andrew Watt?

Ozzy: “He’s a lot better than most producers at collaboration. The fact that he plays guitar, and I don’t, and he works with machines and I don’t, makes it easier. It’s just great working with him. We end up arguing a bit with… sometimes, but not a lot.”

Ozzy’s last album Patient Number 9 was written by OzzyWattRobert Trujillo (METALLICA),Chad Smith (RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS) and Ali Tamposi and features a riveting solo from legendary guitarist Jeff Beck. The video marks the first collaboration from the project with artist and comic book creator Todd McFarlane. It is highlighted by McFarlane‘s signature illustrations interspersed with live Ozzy vignettes in the role of “Patient Number 9,” which the revolutionary creative force in the world of comics and toys also filmed. In addition, this is the first-ever video to incorporate Ozzy‘s artwork: his hand-drawn demons were animated and can be seen during the Jeff Beck solo in the song.

“Patient Number 9” track listing:
01. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)

02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
05. One Of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
08. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead And Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues

An exclusive version of “Patient Number 9” with a limited-edition special McFarlane-designed comic book will be available for preorder; a limited-edition comic with foil cover is also available with a special deluxe box.

Watch Ozzy discuss the background sotry of the new album below.

Social media