Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

COHEED AND CAMBRIA announces new album 'Vaxis II: A Window Of The Waking Mind'

Photo credit: Alexandra Gavillet


COHEED AND CAMBRIA has announced details of its new album, “Vaxis II: A Window Of The Waking Mind”. The ambitious 13-track epic was produced by the band’s own Claudio Sanchez and Zakk Cervini, and will be released worldwide on May 27.

Today the band has launched pre-orders for the album on DSPs and for the collection’s deeply immersive “Vaxis II: A Window of the Waking Mind” limited-edition deluxe box set.

“Vaxis II: A Window Of The Waking Mind” welcomes us back to “The Amory Wars” as the second installment of the five-part “Vaxis” arc about a couple on the run from tyrannical forces and their mysterious new addition. The album’s limited-edition deluxe box set includes the exclusive 96-page illustrated hardcover novel “A Window Of The Waking Mind” which was developed by Sanchez and written by his wife Chondra Echert with strikingly realistic color artwork by Chase Stone. The 9″ x 12″ box set also houses an exclusive Quintillan Speaker Containment Unit Lamp (approximately 8″ diameter), a three-panel fold out poster of expanded album cover art, and the “A Window Of The Waking Mind” black card which will allow all card holders early access to tickets and early entry to COHEED AND CAMBRIA headline dates. All box sets will also come with a CD copy and download of “Vaxis II: A Window Of The Waking Mind” along with an official Certificate Of Authenticity. Furthermore, fans who pre-order the limited-edition box set before January 23 will receive autographed copies and have their name included within the pages of the accompanying illustrated hardcover novel.

Named one of Revolver‘s “Most Anticipated Albums Of 2022,” “Vaxis II: A Window Of The Waking Mind” includes the recently released singles “Rise, Naianasha (Cut The Cord)” and “Shoulders”, the latter of which vaulted into the Top 10 at Active Rock Radio, marking the group’s career highest radio chart position to date. “(It) masterfully pairs heavy metal-infused riffs with sweeping, melodic vocals in a way that only COHEED can,” declared MTV who placed “Shoulders” in their 2021 Favorites round-up. “COHEED AND CAMBRIA are back, and they’re heavy as ever,” asserted Billboard, with Guitar World attesting “COHEED AND CAMBRIA have come out swinging.” Brooklyn Vegan observed, “It finds the band embracing their love of classic heavy metal riffage, before exploding into the kind of soaring chorus that COHEED have been churning out since day one… they sound pretty damn inspired.”

“Vaxis II: A Window Of The Waking Mind” track listing:

01. The Embers Of Fire
02. Beautiful Losers
03. Comatose
04. Shoulders
05. A Disappearing Act
06. Love Murder One
07. Blood
08. The Liars Club
09. Bad Man
10. Our Love
11. Ladders Of Supremacy
12. Rise, Naianasha (Cut The Cord)
13. Window Of The Waking Mind

Social media