Lords of Metal
Arrow Lords of Metal

BODY COUNT releases fan-created music video for 'The Hate Is Real'


BODY COUNT launched a contest for fans to illuminate the musical and lyrical ballistics to their song “The Hate Is Real”, taken from the band’s latest album, “Carnivore”. Fans were asked to create and submit their own videos so the band could pick the best as the visual accompaniment to BODY COUNT‘s bloody, multi-tiered take on personal and systemic hate. Now the choice has been made and for the winning video for “The Hate Is Real”, created by 25-year-old Brooklyn, New York-based filmmaker Seby Martinez.

Watch “The Hate Is Real”below.

Ice-T told Metal Hammer about “The Hate Is Real”: “One day, I heard Jim Jones from (American hip-hop group) DIPSET say, ‘Love is fake, but the hate is real.’ I said, ‘That’s a song, because I believe when people say they love you, that could be a figure of speech.’ It’s, like, ‘Yo, man, I love this dude.’ But when someone hates you, they really hate you. Hate is fuckin’ real. Whether it’s racial hate, religious hate, whatever it is, it divides us. I feel like we’re dealing with all kinds of really hateful shit and we just need to address it.”

As previously reported, BODY COUNT was honored with a Grammy in the “Best Metal Performance” category in the pre-telecast ceremony at the 63rd annual Grammy Awards, which was held Sunday (March 14) in Los Angeles. BODY COUNT was nominated for “Bum-Rush”, a track from “Carnivore”.

The following physical formats are available:
-Ltd. Deluxe 2CD Box Set (incl. bonus tracks, beanie, metallic logo pin, poster & instrumental CD)
-Ltd. CD Digipak
-Ltd. Gatefold LP+CD & LP-Booklet & Poster (incl. bonus track; various colored variants)

You can order your copy of “Carnivore” HERE

“Carnivore” Tracklist
Point The Finger (feat. Riley Gale)
Bum – Rush
Ace Of Spades
Another Level (feat. Jamey Jasta)
Colors – 2020 
No Remorse
When I’m Gone (feat. Amy Lee)
Thee Critical Beatdown
The Hate Is Real
6 In Tha Morning – 2020 – Unreleased Demo*
No Lives Matter – Live in Australia 2017**
Black Hoodie – Live in Australia 2017**

(*) Bonus Track (available on Ltd. LP and Ltd. 2CD Box Set)
(**) Bonus Track (only available on 2CD Box Set)

Body Count are:
Ice-T – Vocals 
Ernie C – Guitar, backing vocals 
Juan Garcia – Guitar, backing vocals 
Vincent Price – Bass, backing vocals 
Ill Will – Drums 
Sean E Sean – Samples, backing vocals

Social media